flood's input lag measurements

Everything about input lag. Tips, testing methods, mouse lag, display lag, game engine lag, whole input lag chain, VSYNC OFF vs VSYNC ON, and more!

Re: flood's input lag measurements

Postby flood » 12 Dec 2016, 22:52

something like 500, maybe
also helps reduce temperature
flood
 
Posts: 875
Joined: 21 Dec 2013, 01:25

Re: flood's input lag measurements

Postby stirner » 13 Dec 2016, 07:10

lexlazootin wrote:Simply saying that you shouldn't cap below 300fps would be a assumption based on the test results.

That's you jumping to conclusions - I've never said that! I'll keep capping at 128.

I'm just saying that, apparently, the lower caps introduce a latency behaviour that is worse than as is expected from rendering intervals increasing.

You're probably right in saying those would reduce latency, but only in terms of freeing up rendering times VERY slightly or not even noticeable amounts.

Disabling the web helper processes - probably. Admin mode could affect game and input processing priorities I guess? And thus affect latency more directly than as a performance by-product.

And disabling the NVIDIA service - although it's been a while since I've checked this; it wasn't even called "Container" back then, for one thing - did have an effect on the game I can't help but say I've felt while playing.

Obviously these are little, likely non-noteworthy tweaks, but we all know the three or four things you can do to actually reduce latency, and then we already are in the low single-digit millisecond range... so what else to tinker around with than precisely little quirks like that?

flood wrote:well then i should also test if flushing my toilet does anything :P

Well, what else were you going to test? :p

Thanks for taking the time though, if you are to!
stirner
 
Posts: 74
Joined: 07 Aug 2014, 04:55

Re: flood's input lag measurements

Postby flood » 13 Dec 2016, 22:49

to be resumed on weekend probably

lexlazootin wrote:Flood, what CS:GO team you on?

none, no time. although i'd probably make time for it if i found the right people.
flood
 
Posts: 875
Joined: 21 Dec 2013, 01:25

Re: flood's input lag measurements

Postby flood » 17 Dec 2016, 21:31

lexlazootin's map, max graphics settings, 1600x1200
mqm0: ~280fps
mqm1: ~280fps
mqm2: ~400fps

so not entirely gpu-limited (otherwise they'd all be nearly the same framerate)

@lexlazootin do you mind making a more graphically complicated map with a black/white box? (or should i just learn how to myself :P)
edit: nvm, i achieve the same effect by underclocking

Image
Image

mqm0 and mqm1 are virtually identical
Last edited by flood on 17 Dec 2016, 22:36, edited 2 times in total.
flood
 
Posts: 875
Joined: 21 Dec 2013, 01:25

Re: flood's input lag measurements

Postby flood » 17 Dec 2016, 21:48

stirner wrote:And out of bullshit curiosity: Mind checking whether running Steam/CS:GO in admin mode changes anything? Likewise, running Steam from a shortcut with the "-no-browser" parameter to prevent the web helper from being co-launched. These probably change next to nothing/negligibly affect performance at most, but hey, they are easy enough to test and I take it you want to test.


running in admin mode:
admin = np.loadtxt("csgomax_steam_admin.txt")

admin.mean()
Out[26]: 8826.6839546191241

200us slower than the measurements in the previous post, but that's more likely related to random inconsistencies every time i alt-tab/restart csgo.

-no-browser:
inconclusive.
Image
fps was 285-290 for each.
i have to restart steam and csgo each time. not sure if the variability is related to that or if -no-browser really makes it slightly better somehow.

for sure if i don't restart csgo, the repeatability is within 100us:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=1381&start=350#p23470
flood
 
Posts: 875
Joined: 21 Dec 2013, 01:25

Re: flood's input lag measurements

Postby flood » 17 Dec 2016, 23:59

k
old pc
gpu underclocked in afterburner (416 core, 324 mem)

max csgo settings at 1600x1200, lexlazootin's map

uncapped fps: 95-97

6 measurements
A: mqm0, uncapped
B: mqm1, uncapped
C: mqm2, uncapped
D: mqm0, capped with fps_max 80 (actual fps ~79.5 or so)
E: mqm1, capped with fps_max 80 (actual fps ~79.5 or so)
F: mqm2, capped with fps_max 80 (actual fps ~79.5 or so)

Image
Image
Image

[x,y] means uniformly distributed random variable between x and y.

A: lag = 2 * (frame time) + [0,frame time]
B: lag = 2 * (frame time) + [0,frame time]
C: lag = 3 * (frame time) + [0,frame time]
D,E,F: 1 * (frame time) + [0, frame time]

so my subjective evaluation was 100% correct :P
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=3103&start=10#p23575
apparently i just realized i posted that in the wrong thread tho

conclusions:
1. mqm0 and mqm1 are identical in all measurements so far.
2. when gpu-limited, setting fps_max to lower than the uncapped framerate can potentially reduce lag. (this is not a recommendation to use fps_max XYZ though. in actual gameplay, framerate fluctuates so much it's not obvious whether there's a single value that would be effective)
flood
 
Posts: 875
Joined: 21 Dec 2013, 01:25

Re: flood's input lag measurements

Postby lexlazootin » 18 Dec 2016, 00:04

Welp, my plan failed. I thought i would just be able to spam blocks but i hit a "Too many blocks" limit before hitting any sort of GPU limit.

http://i.imgur.com/kVABlF5.jpg

So instead i just got de_nuke which is pretty much the most GPU hungry map to date and i added a blackwhite box. I didn't bother rendering the lighting or whatnot because that would of took 8-16hours.

It's a fps killer:
http://i.imgur.com/5FVJd3p.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/TD7VQiM.jpg

Map: http://www.mediafire.com/file/mx2k082nd ... _custom.7z

You might also need to extract the models from from this pack for the map to work (not 100% sure): http://www.mediafire.com/file/544ddcqp3 ... e_nuke.zip
lexlazootin
 
Posts: 755
Joined: 16 Dec 2014, 02:57

Re: flood's input lag measurements

Postby flood » 18 Dec 2016, 00:15

cool, thanks.
i actually edited the post to say that it's not necessary since i can also force the rendering to be gpu-limited by underclocking
but this will still be useful
flood
 
Posts: 875
Joined: 21 Dec 2013, 01:25

Re: flood's input lag measurements

Postby Vols and Jezuz » 18 Dec 2016, 00:23

You can potentially eliminate another variable by making sure Steam overlay is circumvented entirely. Even if you have it disabled, it still launches GameOverlayRenderer.dll from the Steam directory whenever CS:GO starts up and hooks a bunch of stuff (check GameOverlayRenderer.log for proof if ya don't believe me). I think this can cause extraneous instances of Steam browser-related processes to be spawned, so I could see that causing variability or explaining the improvement with -no-browser. Not to mention that its hooking routines are notorious for causing games to crash on startup when they don't get along with other hooks.

To truly keep Steam overlay from meddling around, you'll want to rename GameOverlayRenderer.dll to something like GameOverlayRenderer.dll.off before you launch CS:GO. Then remove the .off extension after you close the game if you want overlay to be available again. Steam will download a fresh GameOverlayRenderer.dll copy the next time it restarts if it notices that it's not there.
Vols and Jezuz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 10 Sep 2015, 21:48

Re: flood's input lag measurements

Postby stirner » 18 Dec 2016, 09:03

200us slower than the measurements in the previous post, but that's more likely related to random inconsistencies every time i alt-tab/restart csgo.
-no-browser:
inconclusive. i have to restart steam and csgo each time. not sure if the variability is related to that or if -no-browser really makes it slightly better somehow.

Nicenice.

Try disabling the NVIDIA Container service next?

Btw.: Are you doing LCD or CRT tests rn?
stirner
 
Posts: 74
Joined: 07 Aug 2014, 04:55

PreviousNext

Return to Input Lag

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests