XL2720Z panel fault ?

Adjusting BENQ Blur Reduction and DyAc (Dynamic Acceleration) including Blur Busters Strobe Utility. Supports most BenQ/Zowie Z-Series monitors (XL2411, XL2420, XL2720, XL2735, XL2540, XL2546)
Buchette

XL2720Z panel fault ?

Post by Buchette » 26 May 2020, 11:45

Hi, after 6 years of Duty a clear line of pixels appeared on the top of the screen. It's not that much visible on pure colors (pure Red, pure
Green, or pure Blue) but you can't miss it on shades. The issue is very visible on the left side, but almost not visible on the right side of the panel.

I opened it and checked for any loose connector, applied slight pressure on ribbons but not change on the display, seems OK.

So now, i just wonder if the panel is faulty at 100% or this issue can be caused by a logic board failure.

Apart this clear pixels line, everything works perfectly.

I'm almost sure it's the panel but since i'm not an expert, i have doubts. What is your guess ?

I just love this screen with the firmware updated and fine tuned, so i'm minding about getting a new AUO M270HTN01.0 panel but they are very expensive and hard to find.

Sorry if i am offtopic. Thank you :)

I tried to take a photo :

Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin

Re: XL2720Z panel fault ?

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 26 May 2020, 13:30

Defect.

Yep, panel is faulty when these kinds of horizontal lines appears -- it's a pixel-row addressor equivalent of a dead pixel now.

Unfortunately, it's time to replace the monitor.

<Advanced Detail>
Since this is out of warranty -- a faint hope is to de-bezel and massage the panel edges to try to cover a bad ribbon-cable solder connection, or weakened connection inside the panel glass), but that can make things worse rather than better. But this is something you may only want to do after buying a new monitor. Just like massaging dead pixels, the success rate of massaging a defective pixel row is extremely low.