Page 46 of 58

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Posted: 03 Mar 2017, 13:12
by RoSenpai
I FUCKING FINALLY DID IT!

After a lot of tries, I changed the permissions on the flashrom folder.
My solution from /flashrom:

$cd ..
$sudo su
#chown -R root:root flashrom/
#chmod 777 -R flashrom/
#cd flashrom/

After that, go on with #sudo ./flashrom -p mstarddc_spi:dev=/dev/i2c-1:49 -c "MX25L1605A/MX25L1606E" -r backup.bin

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Posted: 03 Mar 2017, 15:53
by Falkentyne
I never saw this problem happen before but great work!
Should I attach it to my post on page 220?

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Posted: 03 Mar 2017, 18:08
by RoSenpai
I was about posting a full guide incluiding this, but I think is unfair since I just changed some permissions.
So please, go on.
The exact problem it solved was the Errno 5, and I think it should work too with Errno 6.

Also, you could update the svn co svn://flashrom.org/flashrom/trunk@1846 flashrom to svn co https://code.coreboot.org/svn/flashrom/trunk@1846 flashrom , I don't know if you did it already.

And for anyone who need it, I have attached the update I used. XL2720Z V5.
It's compressed as rar instead of zip because of the size, sorry.

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Posted: 03 Mar 2017, 18:32
by Falkentyne
Is this the Benq or Zowie version?

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Posted: 04 Mar 2017, 05:31
by RoSenpai
I think it's BenQ, I bought it as BenQ XL2720Z.

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Posted: 04 Mar 2017, 12:18
by Falkentyne
Ok because I have all of the Benq released firmwares. Just not the Zowie rebrands.

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Posted: 20 Mar 2017, 09:50
by AfroSamurai
Hey guys,

I'm a complete noob when it comes to flashing hardware like monitors.
Could someone post a guide for idiots, on how to flash the xl2720z?
I'm running win 10 and i have v2 firmware on mine.
Could i do it through a VM or some kind of a simpler tool?
And what commands or programs should i use.
If i do something wrong i won't be able to troubleshoot at all, so i'm asking you politely for your help.
Cheers

UPDATE:
I'm somewhat confused now. When I last checked 2-3 years ago i was running v2,
but now when i go to service page it says i've got v5 now.
What is happening.

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Posted: 20 Mar 2017, 14:03
by Falkentyne
V3, V4 and V5 were released silently by Benq as firmware updates and never released through their website or publicly anywhere. Some people were able to acquire the raw firmware files somehow (not sure how).

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Posted: 18 Apr 2017, 21:24
by lugs
Hello I got stuck at the instructions here:

Code: Select all

sudo ./flashrom -p mstarddc_spi:dev=/dev/i2c-3:49 -c "MX25L1605A/MX25L1606E" -r backup.bin
It returned:

Code: Select all

Calibrating delay loop... OK.
Info: Will try to use device /dev/i2c-3 and address 0x49.
Info: WILL reset the device at the end.
No EEPROM/flash device found.
Note: flashrom can never write if the flash chip isn't found automatically.
So I looked in to the command supposed to be used before again:

Code: Select all

sudo ./flashrom -p mstarddc_spi:dev=/dev/i2c-3:49
Calibrating delay loop... OK.
Info: Will try to use device /dev/i2c-3 and address 0x49.
Info: WILL reset the device at the end.
Found AMIC flash chip "A25L016" (2048 kB, SPI) on mstarddc_spi.
Now I saw that the flashchip was called "A25L016" so I changed the backup command to:

Code: Select all

sudo ./flashrom -p mstarddc_spi:dev=/dev/i2c-3:49 -c "A25L016" -r backup.bin
And it seems to work, I just wanted to ask if I`m doing this correctly so far ?
I uploaded the backup.bin here: https://ufile.io/vu1bq


Edit: Everything worked out !!! Had to change up the patch command aswell of course.

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Posted: 19 Apr 2017, 09:21
by Falkentyne
So these newer monitors are using the AMIC A25L016 instead of Macronix chips?
Was your monitor Benq or Zowie branded?