White horizontal lines on my Benq XL2420Z monitor

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!
wafflecookie

White horizontal lines on my Benq XL2420Z monitor

Post by wafflecookie » 15 Oct 2016, 12:20

http://imgur.com/a/bSxq5
So i just got this the other day and been kinda frustrated about it since, it looks like some burn in and aswell not, i have no experience in it

I have Unplugging the DVI cable from my PC and it was still on the benq boot-up logo.

I also got told by someone the jscreensaver they call it with the white burn pure in, but im still not so sure i tried leaving it turned off for over 15 hours and it was faded most away but came back slowly again. It seems to be some burn in that wont disappear once the monitor is on. :x

Falkentyne

Re: White horizontal lines on my Benq XL2420Z monitor

Post by Falkentyne » 15 Oct 2016, 12:44

That looks like a browser window up there. Or some other application.

Don't leave browser windows sitting static all day or leaving the window up all night. You can tell that's a browser window or another pane by how the top one looks.

15 hours isn't good enough. You will probably have to run jscreenfix deluxe overnight for about a week.

It also helps if you run it at 60hz refresh rate with blur reduction disabled (without a VT tweak) or maybe 144hz (if you don't see faint horizontal scanlines at 144hz; if you do, try 60hz).

To stop them from reoccurring often, when you're done gaming, disable blur reduction and switch back to 60hz (or 144, if no scanlines) instead of your refresh rates with VT tweaks active, and don't leave the browser or application windows sitting there. I believe that having a browser window active 24/7 or overnight in combination with a VT tweak active and blur reduction enabled just makes the issue worse.

wafflecookie