Viewsonic XG2401 and Interlace Pattern Artifacts [Inversion]

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!
dreamer

Viewsonic XG2401 and Interlace Pattern Artifacts [Inversion]

Post by dreamer » 02 Dec 2016, 16:38

Hello folks,

I've been using VS XG2401 for almost 6 months now. I'm quite happy with it.

But recently I've started noticing some woven/fishnet like faint artifacts while playing some games and video contents, like described in this detailed review https://pcmonitors.info/reviews/viewsonic-xg2401/ . The attached image from the review captures that fishnet like artifact quite well (you just need to look bottom left quarter a bit closer)

Looks like these visual disturbances are called interlace pattern artifacts and usually happen in certain speed movements in lighter coloured textures.

The review says these artifacts are kind of common in high refresh rate panels. But I really couldn't find a wide range of complaints about the problem. So I kinda start feeling like I'm alone. The problem is; now I know those artifacts are there my eyes are constantly scanning for them and this turns me paraonid slowly. :D

So my question is; owners of VS XG2401 or similar high refrest rate TN monitors, do you guys happen to see similar faint artifacts or visual disturbances? Any suggestions?

Edit: The fishnet/ woven like artifacts I mentioned appears in that test in the grey grid, when I set the speed to 1p per frame. It's faint, so need to be observed almost point blank. http://www.testufo.com/#test=inversion& ... bars&ppf=5
XG24-interlace-patterns.jpg
XG24-interlace-patterns.jpg (244.22 KiB) Viewed 5709 times

Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin

Re: Viewsonic XG2401 and Interlace Pattern Artifacts

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 04 Dec 2016, 23:26