Stuttering in all my games

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!
BenGarrison

Stuttering in all my games

Post by BenGarrison » 21 Dec 2016, 20:37

I just bought a 165 hz asus Gsync monitor. I thought it would fix this problem I have had since I started playing on PC. Basicalyl when I play Bf1 I get a frequent, inconsistent stutter every couple of seconds. I can set my fps to 60 and uncapped I get over 80+ fps but it still stutters. Its not microstutter its a random level loading type of hitch. I have updated the latest drivers, etc. Nothing works. Basically I wanted to know if anyone else who is very senstive to this type of thing ever had this problem. Its every single game! I have basically built 3 PC's and they all do this crap.

Here are my specs

Gtx 780
i5 3570k 4.7 ghz
16 gb ram
windows 7

alex47

Re: Stuttering in all my games

Post by alex47 » 22 Dec 2016, 08:09

try lowering your graphical settings to minimum, except for screen resolution
did this help?
if yes then maybe it's because the gpu memory is getting full
or not
I'm no expert here

BenGarrison

Post by BenGarrison » 22 Dec 2016, 13:14

I set everything to low and then used a 60fps cap. It was not maxing out on my CPU or GPU but still stuttering. It did run a lot better

kandor1978

Post by kandor1978 » 24 Dec 2016, 06:53

Hi there,

I am super sensitive to stutter of any kind. like any frametime difference
I started to try to fix CSGO as it was stuttering even though I get well over 240fps all the time
And had issue with Battlefield as well

Anyway what I have done to fix this issues for me was several things. I will list one thing at a time

1. Regedit (something I found in another forum related to another game, this part stopped the freeze lag I had in csgo where it would hang for a second or 2 before computer went back to normal and I was dead):