Blur trail test and MG248Q vs XG2401

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!
Btomat

Blur trail test and MG248Q vs XG2401

Post by Btomat » 31 Jan 2017, 02:32

Hi monitor newbie here

I recently found out what PWM is and realized it was probably one of the reasons why my BenQ G2420HD was causing me problems. Since I was getting new and flicker free I thought I might as well get a high refresh rate monitor so I ended up with the MG248Q after looking around tftcentral and some other reviews. I mostly chose it over the xl2411 because it had display port and I only discovered the XG2401 which seem to be consensus best 24" 144hz 1080p monitor on a number of websites.

1) What exactly am I suppose to see on the Blur trail test on a PWM monitor vs a non PWM monitor which the MG248Q is suppose to be. I recorded a video on my phone and for both monitors there are 2 vertical lines moving across the screen. Tftcentral's review said the MG248Q is flicker free but I am seeing the same thing so I am a bit confused.

2) What makes the XG2401 better than the MG248Q? Or if any owners of either could comment on their experiences so far with them it would be great. I bought the MG248Q very recently so I can definitely still exchange it if I change my mind. So far I think I do prefer the asthethic of the MG better but 10 minutes into using it while I was fiddling with the Panel settings the Displayport signal dropped randomly which left a bad taste in a my mouth. Hopefully its just a bad cable that was included in the box.

3) Are there any test I should run to make sure everything is in order on the monitor? Any settings I need to be aware of make for a better gaming experience (mostly multiplayer games such as Dota)?

Thanks in advance

lexlazootin

Re: Blur trail test and MG248Q vs XG2401

Post by lexlazootin » 31 Jan 2017, 08:08