Please help - Best 144hz gaming monitor

There are over 100 ergonomic issues from displays, far more than just flicker and blue light. This forum covers the giant variety of display ergonomics issues.
LaskoAA

Please help - Best 144hz gaming monitor

Post by LaskoAA » 15 Mar 2017, 16:03

In short, I tried the ASUS VG248QE last month and it was causing some eye strain / pain and also giving me slight headaches.

I then switched to the BenQ XL2430 for the flicker free / PWM free technology. The 2430 monitor is good, however, the ASUS VG248QE had a little better fine detail in the graphics and the VG248QE also seemed to have a more dynamic feel to it (the graphic effects / game play seemed more interactive, almost 3D'ish but not quite).

I'm not a pro gamer but I do play competitively. Does anyone know of a fast response gaming monitor that is not harmful to the eyes and also has excellent graphics but is under $300 USD?

I'm running the following:

Video Card: Evga 970 GTW FTW
Processor: Intel i5
Ram: 16 Gig

Thanks!

-

RealNC
Site Admin

Re: Please help - Best 144hz gaming monitor

Post by RealNC » 15 Mar 2017, 16:43

If you don't want G-Sync, then it seems the LG 24GM77 has good reviews. It does use a double-strobe technique though when you enable motion blur reduction, which completely eliminates visible flicker (you get 200Hz/240Hz strobing instead of 100Hz/120Hz,) but can result in a double-image effect as a trade-off (since it's strobing at 200Hz when running at 100Hz, and at 240Hz when running at 120Hz.)

But IMO a G-Sync monitor is better. Yeah, you need to pay $200 more just for G-Sync, but overall it's very nice to have.
SteamGitHubStack Overflow
The views and opinions expressed in my posts are my own and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Blur Busters.

LaskoAA

Post by LaskoAA » 16 Mar 2017, 12:11