Blur Busters Forums

Who you gonna call? The Blur Busters! For Everything Better Than 60Hz™ Skip to content

Acer GN 246 Lightboost hack support?

Motion blur eliminating strobe backlights found in gaming monitors. This includes NVIDIA LightBoost, Ultra Low Motion Blur (ULMB), EIZO Turbo240, ToastyX Strobelight utility, etc.

Re: Acer GN 246 Lightboost hack support?

Postby ImJLu » 29 Jun 2015, 19:46

I'm not sure what you mean by "locked out of the OSD." The only thing I can think of is this: http://i.imgur.com/eCrroMx.png which I'm definitely not locked out of. What are you referring to?
ImJLu
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Jun 2015, 17:37

Re: Acer GN 246 Lightboost hack support?

Postby Falkentyne » 29 Jun 2015, 22:14

I mean, locked out of the color, brightness and gamma settings, overdrive, sharpness, etc.
Falkentyne
 
Posts: 2334
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

Re: Acer GN 246 Lightboost hack support?

Postby chronosXIII » 30 Dec 2016, 23:42

Sorry for reviving this thread - but I found it is the most informative one on this monitor! I am also locked out of this setting, is there anything I can do to get into it? I am trying to get lightboost to work
https://i.imgur.com/lJWsgxP.jpg
chronosXIII
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 30 Dec 2016, 23:38

Re: Acer GN 246 Lightboost hack support?

Postby Chief Blur Buster » 03 Jan 2017, 02:35

Strobelight won't work.
You will need to use another LightBoost hack method at www.blurbusters.com/lightboost/howto ....

(e.g. The EDID override method, or another method)
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter!
User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3320
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44

Re: Acer GN 246 Lightboost hack support?

Postby drmcninja » 18 May 2017, 04:31

I have a GN246HL, I installed strobelight beta 4 (ran the setup exe), enabled a 120Hz strobed mode. And when I go into that strobed mode (and light turns green instead of blue), I can alter the Nvidia setting from monitor's on-screen menu and raise or lower the brightness under the Nvidia 3D Lightboost setting. Is this the total range of brightness alteration possible? Does making it brighter add more input lag? Is there anything I'm missing by not being able to run strobelight.exe?
drmcninja
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 09 May 2017, 10:26

Previous

Return to Eliminating Motion Blur (LightBoost, ULMB, etc)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests