PG248Q... gsync don't works?

Talk about NVIDIA G-SYNC, a variable refresh rate (VRR) technology. G-SYNC eliminates stutters, tearing, and reduces input lag.

PG248Q... gsync don't works?

Postby Zazie » 09 Nov 2016, 14:37

I tried g-sync with emulators. Mame 106 is seen tearing, Kega full screen goes' crash (error StackHash_0a9e). What can I do?
Zazie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 13 Oct 2016, 14:45

Re: PG248Q... gsync don't works?

Postby Zazie » 10 Nov 2016, 10:16

There is a g-sync test? It may be broken?
Zazie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 13 Oct 2016, 14:45

Re: PG248Q... gsync don't works?

Postby lexlazootin » 10 Nov 2016, 11:56

It's hard to tell what's really going on since I've never tried those programs with G-Sync.

Are you using display port connector on your monitor?

Are your Nvidia drivers updated?

Is G-Sync on in the drivers and running your apps in exclusive fullscreen?

Do you have any Source or GoldSrc games that you can test? just type fps_max 60 in console and G-Sync should kick in. Nvidia also has a g-sync pendulum demo http://www.nvidia.com/coolstuff/demos#!/g-sync
lexlazootin
 
Posts: 819
Joined: 16 Dec 2014, 02:57

Re: PG248Q... gsync don't works?

Postby jorimt » 12 Nov 2016, 18:43

Zazie wrote:I tried g-sync with emulators. Mame 106 is seen tearing, Kega full screen goes' crash (error StackHash_0a9e). What can I do?

A simple google search shows both of those emulators have known issues with G-Sync functionality. Just search "Mame 106 G-sync" and "Kega G-Sync" and you may find some existing material on another site or forum.

I don't use either emulator, so I can't give further input.
Win 10 64-bit • Acer Predator XB271HU • ASRock Z87 Extreme4 • EVGA SuperNOVA 750W G2 • i7-4770k @4.2GHz • Hyper 212 Evo • EVGA GTX 1080 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0 • 16GB G.SKILL Sniper DDR3 @1866MHz • 256GB Samsung 850 Pro • 5TB Western Digital Black 7200 RPM
User avatar
jorimt
 
Posts: 218
Joined: 04 Nov 2016, 10:44

Re: PG248Q... gsync don't works?

Postby Zazie » 01 Feb 2017, 18:32

I found that gsync doesn't work with direct draw, which is why it didn't work. :(
Zazie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 13 Oct 2016, 14:45

Re: PG248Q... gsync don't works?

Postby dmbr » 27 Apr 2017, 08:55

Zazie wrote:I found that gsync doesn't work with direct draw, which is why it didn't work. :(

Does this mean gsync simply doesn't work with Source games? :(
dmbr
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 Jul 2014, 14:43

Re: PG248Q... gsync don't works?

Postby lexlazootin » 27 Apr 2017, 21:56

dmbr wrote:
Zazie wrote:I found that gsync doesn't work with direct draw, which is why it didn't work. :(

Does this mean gsync simply doesn't work with Source games? :(


It defiantly works with source games.
lexlazootin
 
Posts: 819
Joined: 16 Dec 2014, 02:57

Re: PG248Q... gsync don't works?

Postby Chief Blur Buster » 27 Apr 2017, 22:01

dmbr wrote:
Zazie wrote:I found that gsync doesn't work with direct draw, which is why it didn't work. :(

Does this mean gsync simply doesn't work with Source games? :(

Source games isn't DirectX... It's Direct3D or OpenGL depending on platform.

GSYNC works with both Direct3D and OpenGL

But the problem is emulators don't always work with GSYNC. Some of them do, but not all. Emulators often use DirectX, but they can be modified and adapted to be compatible with GSYNC. I've seen MAME successfully work in GSYNC mode to support arcade games that run at odd refresh rates (e.g. 54Hz). But it requires quite the fiddling with command line options, and works best with VSYNC ON powered GSYNC. Fortunately the emulator itself is a framerate cap unto itself, so you don't get the VSYNC ON input lag that occurs at hitting maximum GSYNC framerate...
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter!
User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3250
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44

Re: PG248Q... gsync don't works?

Postby RealNC » 27 Apr 2017, 22:47

For G-Sync to work in MAME you can use the OpenGL renderer, available since MAME 0159. The Direct3D renderer should also work.

Direct Draw will NOT work with g-sync.
The views and opinions expressed in my posts are my own and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Blur Busters.
User avatar
RealNC
 
Posts: 1046
Joined: 24 Dec 2013, 18:32

Re: PG248Q... gsync don't works?

Postby Haste » 28 Apr 2017, 01:14

RealNC wrote:For G-Sync to work in MAME you can use the OpenGL renderer, available since MAME 0159. The Direct3D renderer should also work.

Direct Draw will NOT work with g-sync.


This could be added to the Gsync 101 guide. What do you think, jorimt?
Monitor: Asus ROG Swift PG278Q
Haste
 
Posts: 278
Joined: 22 Dec 2013, 09:03

Next

Return to G-SYNC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests