A couple quick and simple questions [overclocking to 75Hz]

Talk about overclocking displays at a higher refresh rate. This includes homebrew, 165Hz, QNIX, Catleap, Overlord Tempest, SEIKI displays, certain HDTVs, and other overclockable displays.
Praetorr

A couple quick and simple questions [overclocking to 75Hz]

Post by Praetorr » 02 Apr 2014, 19:31

Hi everyone. I'm new to monitor overclocking altogether, and I just have a couple quick questions.

1) I raised my refresh rate from 60hz @1680/1050 to 75hz @1680/1050 using the standard Nvidia Control Panel. I used "CVT - reduced blank" in order to make it work. Are there any potential reasons NOT to use CVT - reduced blank, or did I do everything properly?

2) I read in some guides that you have to install a new monitor drivers to enable the higher hz in games. I currently just have the standard Viewsonic VG2230wm driver that Windows 7 found and installed when I setup my computer. Do I really need to uninstall that and install a new one, or will games run fine at 75hz as long as Vsync is off?

Thank you! I'm very new to this so any help would be hugely appreciated.

Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin

Re: A couple quick and simple questions [overclocking to 75H

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 06 Apr 2014, 00:13

Moved this thread to overclocking forum.
Praetorr wrote:1) I raised my refresh rate from 60hz @1680/1050 to 75hz @1680/1050 using the standard Nvidia Control Panel. I used "CVT - reduced blank" in order to make it work. Are there any potential reasons NOT to use CVT - reduced blank, or did I do everything properly?
Reduced blank increases overclocking margin.