[Radeon+MouseHz Interference] atieclxx calls GetRawInputData causing mouse jitter - patched w/ python!

Everything about latency. Tips, testing methods, mouse lag, display lag, game engine lag, network lag, whole input lag chain, VSYNC OFF vs VSYNC ON, and more! Input Lag Articles on Blur Busters.
Aeodyn
Posts: 9
Joined: 19 Feb 2024, 15:42

Re: [Radeon+MouseHz Interference] atieclxx calls GetRawInputData causing mouse jitter - patched w/ python!

Post by Aeodyn » 10 Mar 2024, 22:04

F1zus wrote:
10 Mar 2024, 14:48
Okay, thanks for the answer. I downloaded python 3 on win10 and tried to run your script. It throws an error on the first line.
PS: I would like to add that if you set min fps = max fps, then AMD chill will work like a regular fps limiter.
But it limits it more correctly than the in-game limiter.
And also, after using your script with AMD chill enabled, will there be problems with the mouse?
To run a Python script, you can open a cmd/powershell window, cd to the directory, and then do (in this case) "py patch_atieclxx.py" (or use the path to python.exe instead of "py"). Just double-clicking it may also work, but it'll be harder to tell.

It won't hurt mouse input at all, no. Not sure if it will break Chill and/or Boost, but should just make it act as if mouse movement is zero.

User avatar
F1zus
Posts: 134
Joined: 07 Nov 2022, 17:59

Re: [Radeon+MouseHz Interference] atieclxx calls GetRawInputData causing mouse jitter - patched w/ python!

Post by F1zus » 11 Mar 2024, 05:43

Aeodyn wrote:
10 Mar 2024, 22:04
To run a Python script, you can open a cmd/powershell window, cd to the directory, and then do (in this case) "py patch_atieclxx.py" (or use the path to python.exe instead of "py"). Just double-clicking it may also work, but it'll be harder to tell.

It won't hurt mouse input at all, no. Not sure if it will break Chill and/or Boost, but should just make it act as if mouse movement is zero.
Okay, I followed the instructions and still got an error with the wrong file name or something. atieclxx.exe and your script were in the same folder.
Attachments
1111.PNG
1111.PNG (5.55 KiB) Viewed 1832 times

joolae
Posts: 3
Joined: 07 Mar 2024, 19:04

Re: [Radeon+MouseHz Interference] atieclxx calls GetRawInputData causing mouse jitter - patched w/ python!

Post by joolae » 11 Mar 2024, 17:31

Hi I found this fix working well for and for the 1st time I'm hitting 8khz with enough input, but I shutdown my PC and upon restart I don't have the same results anymore and it's back to my normal polling rates (3.5k -5.5k) any idea as to why? I have re-executed every steps again but I can't reach 8khz again :( :( :( below was yesterday's result after your fix
Polling_Rate_Tester_App_v1.02.00_uFUoEoML8q.png
Polling_Rate_Tester_App_v1.02.00_uFUoEoML8q.png (221.35 KiB) Viewed 1389 times

urikawa
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Mar 2024, 14:21

Re: [Radeon+MouseHz Interference] atieclxx calls GetRawInputData causing mouse jitter - patched w/ python!

Post by urikawa » 13 Mar 2024, 14:26

Hello you have to do pip install pefile in the command line as admin then do the patch in the folder where you have the exe file

Aeodyn
Posts: 9
Joined: 19 Feb 2024, 15:42

Re: [Radeon+MouseHz Interference] atieclxx calls GetRawInputData causing mouse jitter - patched w/ python!

Post by Aeodyn » 13 Mar 2024, 19:04

F1zus wrote:
11 Mar 2024, 05:43
Okay, I followed the instructions and still got an error with the wrong file name or something. atieclxx.exe and your script were in the same folder.
I updated the OP with more detailed instructions; lmk how it goes.

User avatar
F1zus
Posts: 134
Joined: 07 Nov 2022, 17:59

Re: [Radeon+MouseHz Interference] atieclxx calls GetRawInputData causing mouse jitter - patched w/ python!

Post by F1zus » 14 Mar 2024, 16:00

Aeodyn wrote:
13 Mar 2024, 19:04
F1zus wrote:
11 Mar 2024, 05:43
Okay, I followed the instructions and still got an error with the wrong file name or something. atieclxx.exe and your script were in the same folder.
I updated the OP with more detailed instructions; lmk how it goes.
Okay, I followed the instructions and actually managed to patch the file.
It looks like it worked.
Three files with atieclxx.exe were located in the folder

Code: Select all

C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\u0400567.inf_amd64_e8b6b2335bcb3cef\B400391 
and

Code: Select all

C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\u0400567.inf_amd6 4_e8b6b2335bcb3cef\B400392
and

Code: Select all

C:\Windows\System32
Replaced these files using totalcmd.
I'm using 24.2.1 Radeon ID driver mod. System - win11 22631.3296.
CPU - amd 5600, 4.6 GHz fixed.
RAM 3800cl14.
So I played about an hour with bots and a couple of matches in CS2.
I feel like the mouse's movements have become sharper and smoother.
It feels like I have double vertical sync enabled :). But I already play with vsync + freesync for the smoothest image and stable mouse sensitivity.
Unfortunately, I cannot measure the mouse polling rate using MouseTester, because when the mouse cursor moves outside the program window, the results become incorrect. It shows me 200000Hz and similar nonsense.
So I need to quickly move the mouse cursor in a small program window, this is difficult and incorrect.
PS: Thank you for the important script. I will continue to test further.
Attachments
PATHamd.PNG
PATHamd.PNG (15.29 KiB) Viewed 1449 times
path.PNG
path.PNG (8.58 KiB) Viewed 1449 times

User avatar
F1zus
Posts: 134
Joined: 07 Nov 2022, 17:59

Re: [Radeon+MouseHz Interference] atieclxx calls GetRawInputData causing mouse jitter - patched w/ python!

Post by F1zus » 22 Mar 2024, 16:05

A new driver version 24.3.1 was released and AMD engineers did not fix the problem with atieclxx.exe. At a high mouse polling rate of 4000-8000hz, the sensitivity still feels bad; your mouse is literally swimming in oil. But Aeodyn's fix works fine.
I hope one day AMD engineers will fix this bug.

PunksOnHope
Posts: 36
Joined: 18 Jan 2023, 07:47

Re: [Radeon+MouseHz Interference] atieclxx calls GetRawInputData causing mouse jitter - patched w/ python!

Post by PunksOnHope » 24 Mar 2024, 14:16

so just wondering for someone who doesnt use freesync or hotkeys could i just disable the service or does this cause other issues? i mean if its handling mouse data for dwm maybe simply disabling might not be the best option. but im not really comfortable with all this cmd prompt stuff im not very tech savvy.

Post Reply