Blur Busters Forums

Who you gonna call? The Blur Busters! For Everything Better Than 60Hz™ Skip to content

Overwatch: Spoofing refresh rate + above 400fps.

Everything about input lag. Tips, testing methods, mouse lag, display lag, game engine lag, whole input lag chain, VSYNC OFF vs VSYNC ON, and more! Input Lag Articles on Blur Busters.

Overwatch: Spoofing refresh rate + above 400fps.

Postby i fast reaction » 25 Jan 2019, 03:45

hi

The maximum frame rate Overwatch allows you to set as a cap is 400 by editing the config file. I have no issue holding this frame rate with my setup and am curious about the following:

A) If a 480hz monitor is used in conjunction with "display based" frame rate cap can you reach higher frame rates than 400?

B) Is it possible to spoof the refresh rate that Windows reports, even if only up to 512hz?

Is there a way to surpass the 512hz hard limit if A and B are possible?

nvidia gpu
thanks!
i fast reaction
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 03:27

Re: Overwatch: Spoofing refresh rate + above 400fps.

Postby theangryregulator » 25 Jan 2019, 06:04

You must take overwatch pretty seriously to aim for 480hz.
theangryregulator
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 21 Jan 2019, 22:11

Re: Overwatch: Spoofing refresh rate + above 400fps.

Postby ericl » 25 Jan 2019, 09:45

The highest in-game cap you can achieve in Overwatch is 400fps. If you go above 400 in the config, the config file rejects it and puts you back down to 300fps (which is the highest you can adjust with the in game menu).

Note: You also have to re-adjust the config and re-save the file every time you adjust the menu. (So if you change a keyboard bind or mouse sensitivity, you have to go back into notepad to re-edit the 400fps cap.)

I found that running at 400fps provides the lower game input lag (2.5 SIM as reported in game when you do ctrl-shift-n) however it's just as smooth as running RTSS (Scanline sync) at a fixed 239FPS. (In fact, the scanline sync might be even smoother, it's REALLY close).

So... the Windows limit has nothing to do with how high you can set the max in-game refresh rate.
The max Overwatch allows you to go is 400fps.
ericl
 
Posts: 78
Joined: 09 Jan 2014, 14:50

Re: Overwatch: Spoofing refresh rate + above 400fps.

Postby i fast reaction » 25 Jan 2019, 14:40

I'm not interested in the "custom" frame limiter, I'm curious as to whether running the game using "display-based" while using a higher refresh rate than 400 will allow for frame rates above 400.


running scanline sync doesnt have less latency than being locked at steady 2.5sim


im only worried about the windows limit if it turns out display based can reach higher frame rates than 400, in which case i'd then be interested in spoofing a higher refresh rate


also you can set the file to "read only" in its properties so all you have to do is restart your game if you accidentally access the graphics tab if its sonething you want to play with in the future

controls + gameplay tabs are saved on OW's cloud
i fast reaction
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 03:27

Re: Overwatch: Spoofing refresh rate + above 400fps.

Postby RealNC » 25 Jan 2019, 15:11

I'm not aware of any tool out there that spoofs a refresh rate to games. There's never been any need for that, so no wonder that no such tool appears to exist.
TwitterSteamGitHubStack Overflow

The views and opinions expressed in my posts are my own and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Blur Busters.
User avatar
RealNC
 
Posts: 2443
Joined: 24 Dec 2013, 18:32

Re: Overwatch: Spoofing refresh rate + above 400fps.

Postby phatty » 31 Jan 2019, 13:17

Sim is calculated theoretical input lag off of your fps/refresh rate.

There is still display specific lag.
Display: Acer Predator XB271HU OS: Windows 10 MB: ASUS Prime Z370-P CPU: i7-8700k GPU: MSI Gaming X GTX 1080 Ti RAM: 16GB @DDR4-3000
phatty
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 01 Dec 2018, 05:22

Re: Overwatch: Spoofing refresh rate + above 400fps.

Postby andrelip » 08 Feb 2019, 10:09

You can use Microsoft Detours or MinHook to fake the return of EnumDisplaySettings. You could also hook the system services in kernel-mode if you don't bother buying the premium to sign your driver. In my opinion this code is not simple to write and test, could have side-effects and even if it works I guess overwatch should force a hard limit even in this mode.
andrelip
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 21 Mar 2014, 17:50


Return to Input Lag

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests