higher input lag since switching to zen 2 (high speed test)

Everything about latency. Tips, testing methods, mouse lag, display lag, game engine lag, network lag, whole input lag chain, VSYNC OFF vs VSYNC ON, and more! Input Lag Articles on Blur Busters.
ko4
Posts: 102
Joined: 06 Jul 2018, 16:14

higher input lag since switching to zen 2 (high speed test)

Post by ko4 » 24 Aug 2019, 02:07

specs
ryzen 5 3600
aorus x570 elite
gtx 1060 6gb
dell s2716dg

all fps games felt floaty after upgrading my mobo and cpu so I decided to test it.
I used my note 9 which can do 960fps for 200ms.
results:
lag.PNG
lag.PNG (7.43 KiB) Viewed 3037 times
map: Training_aim_csgo
fps_max 300
resolution: 1440p native
gpu usage around 30%
all settings lowest
raw input on
multicore rendering off
I should be getting around 9-12 ms according to other user's test but mine spikes up to well over 20ms

I sold my old motherboard but I still have my old intel cpu
however if these numbers do not prove to be normal i can buy a cheap mobo for testing purposes and return it later

boxszs
Posts: 21
Joined: 17 Aug 2019, 13:43

Re: higher input lag since switching to zen 2 (high speed te

Post by boxszs » 26 Aug 2019, 10:25

Ugh I wanted to buy a Ryzen 5 3600 but now I'm torn..

Why do you have Multicore Rendering off? That is just going to give you lower frames. That needs to be enabled. At least on Intel.

Kheri
Posts: 59
Joined: 29 Sep 2018, 13:39

Re: higher input lag since switching to zen 2 (high speed te

Post by Kheri » 26 Aug 2019, 14:05

I'm curious to hear more about your process. Do you have an LED hooked up to your mouse or something?
Interesting stuff.

boxszs
Posts: 21
Joined: 17 Aug 2019, 13:43

Re: higher input lag since switching to zen 2 (high speed te

Post by boxszs » 26 Aug 2019, 15:40

Definitely try another motherboard if you are willing to return it just to see if it could be an issue. Try a B450, something relatively cheap like the ASUS STRIX B450-F Gaming.

ko4
Posts: 102
Joined: 06 Jul 2018, 16:14

Re: higher input lag since switching to zen 2 (high speed te

Post by ko4 » 28 Aug 2019, 00:08

boxszs wrote:Definitely try another motherboard if you are willing to return it just to see if it could be an issue. Try a B450, something relatively cheap like the ASUS STRIX B450-F Gaming.
I tested mouse movement with a hammer and I got around 9-13 ms so it might be placebo

im still gonna buy a cheap lga1151 mobo next month for testing

B1GGS
Posts: 6
Joined: 02 Sep 2019, 22:36

Re: higher input lag since switching to zen 2 (high speed te

Post by B1GGS » 03 Sep 2019, 00:41

Hey what ram speed where you running for zen 1 and now zen 2. showed my buddie this post and brought that up. Assuming they are both using the same speed while zen2 asks for 3600Mhz. interested in seeing this test with a spectrum in ram speed.

ko4
Posts: 102
Joined: 06 Jul 2018, 16:14

Re: higher input lag since switching to zen 2 (high speed te

Post by ko4 » 03 Sep 2019, 22:04

B1GGS wrote:Hey what ram speed where you running for zen 1 and now zen 2. showed my buddie this post and brought that up. Assuming they are both using the same speed while zen2 asks for 3600Mhz. interested in seeing this test with a spectrum in ram speed.
My previous rig was an intel one
I am using 3000mhz now with zen 2

senny22
Posts: 92
Joined: 03 May 2019, 17:40

Re: higher input lag since switching to zen 2 (high speed te

Post by senny22 » 04 Sep 2019, 08:50

ko4 wrote:
B1GGS wrote:Hey what ram speed where you running for zen 1 and now zen 2. showed my buddie this post and brought that up. Assuming they are both using the same speed while zen2 asks for 3600Mhz. interested in seeing this test with a spectrum in ram speed.
My previous rig was an intel one
I am using 3000mhz now with zen 2
Unless you have a really cheap kit then I think you should be able to go higher. My 3200 kit is running at 3800mhz and decent timings.

ko4
Posts: 102
Joined: 06 Jul 2018, 16:14

Re: higher input lag since switching to zen 2 (high speed te

Post by ko4 » 05 Sep 2019, 01:27

senny22 wrote:
ko4 wrote:
B1GGS wrote:Hey what ram speed where you running for zen 1 and now zen 2. showed my buddie this post and brought that up. Assuming they are both using the same speed while zen2 asks for 3600Mhz. interested in seeing this test with a spectrum in ram speed.
My previous rig was an intel one
I am using 3000mhz now with zen 2
Unless you have a really cheap kit then I think you should be able to go higher. My 3200 kit is running at 3800mhz and decent timings.
I am using micron e-die
I will try ocing it again soon but last time i tried i couldn't go over 2400

ko4
Posts: 102
Joined: 06 Jul 2018, 16:14

Re: higher input lag since switching to zen 2 (high speed te

Post by ko4 » 11 Sep 2019, 22:37

found another user with the exact same problem.
https://www.reddit.com/r/AMDHelp/commen ... ?context=3

Bought a cheap b150 board to test with my old cpu. Should arrive next week

Post Reply