I am a newbie. I make some considerations on the input lag of my favorite game.

Everything about latency. Tips, testing methods, mouse lag, display lag, game engine lag, network lag, whole input lag chain, VSYNC OFF vs VSYNC ON, and more! Input Lag Articles on Blur Busters.
paXiomX

I am a newbie. I make some considerations on the input lag of my favorite game.

Post by paXiomX » 25 May 2020, 13:58

Hi guys, I read you from the outside and you are a forum full of competent people.
I'm Luca, an Italian boy and I play mainly Fortnite in a semi-competitive way. I recently purchased a 144hz monitor, the AOC C24G1 (Freesync, but G-SYNC compatible).

For weeks I have been looking for the best configuration to have the least possible input lag and to be fast in movement.

I tried:
1) 160fps with G-SYNC active
2) 144fps with G-SYNC active
3) 141fps with G-SYNC G + V-SYNC ON in the Nvidia panel
4) 141fps with G-SYNC active + V-SYNC OFF in Nvidia panel
6) I disabled the freesync on the monitor, I cap the FPS to 160fps.

I must say that among all these tests, the last one seems to have given me the greatest results in terms of input lag, that is, I totally disabled the freesync and I set the fps to a slightly higher value of 144fps. I noticed that with the G-SYNC I was losing some "speed".

Do you think it's placebo effect? Or was it the best solution? In all cases, I always kept the ultra low latency mode in the Nvidia control panel!

TTT

Re: I am a newbie. I make some considerations on the input lag of my favorite game.

Post by TTT » 26 May 2020, 08:55

Lowest possible is all syncs off.

VRR isn't laglass, its just much less than Vsync.

Also don't max your GPU, cap the FPS so your GPU isn't going over 90-95%.

Also don't use Ultra, leave it set to ON(1).

paXiomX

Re: I am a newbie. I make some considerations on the input lag of my favorite game.

Post by paXiomX » 26 May 2020, 14:48

Why is it convenient to use it on ON and not on ULTRA?

Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin