AMD Freesync and Nvidia GPU Input Lag

Everything about latency. Tips, testing methods, mouse lag, display lag, game engine lag, network lag, whole input lag chain, VSYNC OFF vs VSYNC ON, and more! Input Lag Articles on Blur Busters.
FPSMaster

AMD Freesync and Nvidia GPU Input Lag

Post by FPSMaster » 07 Sep 2021, 08:24

Hello to all!
Its my first time posting something here.
I have a problem with my last 3 monitors I got. In the past year, I switched from an office monitor, to 3 different Freesync monitors. 2 were 144hz monitors, and my last one has 75HZ. Names: Dell S2421HGF, AOC 24G2 and the ASUS VG245H. All those had pretty good specs (at least on reviews and on RTINGS.com) and they were stated to have very low input lag.
To be exact, they had like 9ms input lag on 60HZ native res, and for 144hz about 3,5-5ms. The office monitor which I had before, was a 60HZ IPS, 5ms GTG and unkown input lag. Its the "Philips V-line 243v7qdab".
Now, I will talk about the problem!

When I got those monitors, I tested every single one on 60HZ, and optimized settings to get the "apple to apple" comparison to my old office monitor!
And I instantly reconized higher input lag on the new monitors! I would go so far and say I got at least 1-2 more frames of input lag (16.6ms-33.33).
This is realy strange, because they all had the best ratings you would see for 150-200 Euro budget. They even had better ratings then some monitors for 300-400 Euros. And they still felt worse in input lag then my 100 Euro Office monitor...
At first, I thaught it were some NV Control panel settings. So checked them, and they were the same I had before.
Then I tried out different monitor settings. Turning off Freesync and other options. I Increased the overdrive settings to get the least amount of motion blur. I changed from "display scaling" to "GPU Scaling". I tried out different HDMI and DP ports etc.