Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Adjusting BENQ Blur Reduction and DyAc (Dynamic Acceleration) including Blur Busters Strobe Utility. Supports most BenQ/Zowie Z-Series monitors (XL2411, XL2420, XL2720, XL2735, XL2540, XL2546)
Kbenq
Posts: 5
Joined: 08 Oct 2018, 14:22

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Post by Kbenq » 08 Oct 2018, 18:22

Sparky wrote:
Kbenq wrote:
Sparky wrote:
Kbenq wrote:
I have a problem in the last step, when I enter the code ./flashrom, it throws me an error of ./flashrom not found.
pleas help me, my monitor is Benq XL2420z
Are you in the right place?
You can use pwd to see what directory you're in, and ls to see what's there.
I've been two days with this and I can not, I do not know how to load the bin, I'm new to linux but I came well in the part where it is used *. / flashrom*, that is, if I have an answer from my monitor, if it is correctly identified, please help me

Code: Select all

pwd
is the command to show the present working directory.

Code: Select all

ls
lists the contents of the current directory.

Code: Select all

cd [directory]
is the command to change directory.

Code: Select all

.
is the shortcut for the current directory, so if you try to run ./something then that something should be in the current directory.

Either the program isn't where it's supposed to be, or you're in the wrong place to be running that command. With the information you've given, we can't tell which.

Code: Select all

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo modprobe i2c-dev
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo i2cdetect -l
i2c-3	i2c       	nvkm-0000:07:00.0-aux-0004      	I2C adapter
i2c-13	i2c       	nvkm-0000:07:00.0-aux-0009      	I2C adapter
i2c-1	i2c       	nvkm-0000:07:00.0-bus-0002      	I2C adapter
i2c-11	i2c       	nvkm-0000:07:00.0-aux-0008      	I2C adapter
i2c-8	i2c       	nvkm-0000:07:00.0-bus-0007      	I2C adapter
i2c-6	i2c       	nvkm-0000:07:00.0-bus-0006      	I2C adapter
i2c-4	i2c       	nvkm-0000:07:00.0-bus-0005      	I2C adapter
i2c-14	i2c       	0000:07:00.0                    	I2C adapter
i2c-2	i2c       	nvkm-0000:07:00.0-bus-0004      	I2C adapter
i2c-12	i2c       	nvkm-0000:07:00.0-bus-0009      	I2C adapter
i2c-0	i2c       	nvkm-0000:07:00.0-bus-0001      	I2C adapter
i2c-9	i2c       	nvkm-0000:07:00.0-aux-0007      	I2C adapter
i2c-10	i2c       	nvkm-0000:07:00.0-bus-0008      	I2C adapter
i2c-7	i2c       	nvkm-0000:07:00.0-aux-0006      	I2C adapter
i2c-5	i2c       	nvkm-0000:07:00.0-aux-0005      	I2C adapter
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo i2cdetect 21
Error: Could not open file `/dev/i2c-21' or `/dev/i2c/21': No such file or directory
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo i2cdetect 2
WARNING! This program can confuse your I2C bus, cause data loss and worse!
I will probe file /dev/i2c-2.
I will probe address range 0x03-0x77.
Continue? [Y/n] y
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
00:          -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
10: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
20: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 37 -- -- 3a 3b -- -- -- -- 
40: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 49 -- -- -- -- -- -- 
50: 50 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 59 -- -- -- -- -- -- 
60: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
70: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --                         
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo i2cdump -r 0-127 2 0x50
No size specified (using byte-data access)
WARNING! This program can confuse your I2C bus, cause data loss and worse!
I will probe file /dev/i2c-2, address 0x50, mode byte
Probe range limited to 0x00-0x7f.
Continue? [Y/n] y
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f    0123456789abcdef
00: 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00 09 d1 2d 7f 45 54 00 00    ........??-?ET..
10: 07 18 01 03 80 35 1e 78 2e 9d e1 a6 54 54 9f 26    ?????5?x.???TT?&
20: 0d 50 54 a5 6b 80 d1 c0 45 7c 61 7c 81 80 81 bc    ?PT?k???E|a|????
30: 95 3c 31 7c 01 01 02 3a 80 18 71 38 2d 40 58 2c    ?<1|???:??q8-@X,
40: 45 00 13 2a 21 00 00 1e 00 00 00 ff 00 4d 32 45    E.?*!..?.....M2E
50: 30 32 32 34 33 53 4c 30 0a 20 00 00 00 fd 00 38    02243SL0? ...?.8
60: 90 1e a0 21 00 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 fc    ???!.?      ...?
70: 00 42 65 6e 51 20 58 4c 32 34 32 30 5a 0a 01 e5    .BenQ XL2420Z???
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo ./flashrom -p mstarddc_spi
sudo: ./flashrom: command not found
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo ./flashrom -p mstarddc_spi:dev=/dev/i2c-2:49
sudo: ./flashrom: command not found
I can not get past this point

BFone
Posts: 5
Joined: 21 Sep 2018, 21:37

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Post by BFone » 09 Oct 2018, 17:58

Did you download the flashrom folder from one of the links I ve given, copy it to your user-folder or whereever to the ubuntu system and run the following commands:

Code: Select all

cd flashrom     <<< or whatever neccessary is, to change inside the flashrom folder
make -j
I can't see this part in your log, which you have posted ...

TheMoeBlob
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Sep 2018, 17:21

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Post by TheMoeBlob » 11 Oct 2018, 12:43

@BFone your method seems to have worked, just doing the final steps now so thank you very much

Kbenq
Posts: 5
Joined: 08 Oct 2018, 14:22

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Post by Kbenq » 13 Oct 2018, 14:45

BFone wrote:Did you download the flashrom folder from one of the links I ve given, copy it to your user-folder or whereever to the ubuntu system and run the following commands:

Code: Select all

cd flashrom     <<< or whatever neccessary is, to change inside the flashrom folder
make -j
I can't see this part in your log, which you have posted ...
Ready, you can update my monitor, the problem is that I was using Ubuntu ver. 16 ..... and download version 14 .... and I could read the FLASHROM folder without problems, only that at the end when the verification was made, I throw ERROR IN VERIFICATION, I was scared because I did not turn on the monitor, but if did it and if it appears with the V004 watch, would there be a problem for it?

luizffgarcia
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Oct 2018, 18:41

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Post by luizffgarcia » 23 Oct 2018, 18:45

Guys, i need some help please.

I have just bricked my xl270z and i think it has something to do with the flash chip name. In my command i used "W25Q16.V" which was the only chip i could find in the command to list chips.

During the process i got a few "spi_nbyte_program failed during command execution at address 0x0" errno 6.

I have two questions.

- How can i unbrick it, even if i end up rolling back to v2?
- Is there still a way to actually flash V5?

Btw, i used an i5 laptop and a vga cable.

Thanks in advance

EDIT: Ok i just tried the exact same procedure using a DVI port and even with some errors verifying the final state it worked! I am on V5. The only issue is that i still get the same "no signal" bug using display port, very weird no?

Falkentyne
Posts: 2793
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Post by Falkentyne » 04 Nov 2018, 20:26

luizffgarcia wrote:Guys, i need some help please.

I have just bricked my xl270z and i think it has something to do with the flash chip name. In my command i used "W25Q16.V" which was the only chip i could find in the command to list chips.

During the process i got a few "spi_nbyte_program failed during command execution at address 0x0" errno 6.

I have two questions.

- How can i unbrick it, even if i end up rolling back to v2?
- Is there still a way to actually flash V5?

Btw, i used an i5 laptop and a vga cable.

Thanks in advance

EDIT: Ok i just tried the exact same procedure using a DVI port and even with some errors verifying the final state it worked! I am on V5. The only issue is that i still get the same "no signal" bug using display port, very weird no?
try reflashing again.
You should not be getting errors and the no signal bug was fixed in firmware v4. If you still have it, something went wrong.

User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
Posts: 11647
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44
Location: Toronto / Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 05 Nov 2018, 23:28

Make sure you don't mix up XL2411Z and XL2411P firmwares.

Trying XL2411Z firmwares on XL2411P can disable the DisplayPort.
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter

Image
Forum Rules wrote:  1. Rule #1: Be Nice. This is published forum rule #1. Even To Newbies & People You Disagree With!
  2. Please report rule violations If you see a post that violates forum rules, then report the post.
  3. ALWAYS respect indie testers here. See how indies are bootstrapping Blur Busters research!

istoikov
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Nov 2018, 18:37

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Post by istoikov » 21 Nov 2018, 18:40

Hello all,

I have recently purchased a used XL2411Z, which has stock V1 firmware from 2013.
Since then, I have been reviewing this thread together with Blur Busters guides and links to newer firmwares, and I wonder whether I can use the linux method to directly upgrade from V1 firmware to V4 firmware, or not?
Or do I have to go through subsequent version, i.e. V1 > V2 > V4? Can the procedure be performed using DVI from gtx 1060 PC?

Looking forward to your thoughts!
Cheers

Edit:

I was successful in updating to the V4 version. Is there anything newer than that?

Falkentyne
Posts: 2793
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Post by Falkentyne » 25 Nov 2018, 01:18

istoikov wrote:Hello all,

I have recently purchased a used XL2411Z, which has stock V1 firmware from 2013.
Since then, I have been reviewing this thread together with Blur Busters guides and links to newer firmwares, and I wonder whether I can use the linux method to directly upgrade from V1 firmware to V4 firmware, or not?
Or do I have to go through subsequent version, i.e. V1 > V2 > V4? Can the procedure be performed using DVI from gtx 1060 PC?

Looking forward to your thoughts!
Cheers

Edit:

I was successful in updating to the V4 version. Is there anything newer than that?
You can go directly from V1 to V4.

zefirka
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Nov 2018, 07:03

Re: Firmware upgrade using Linux tool, requires no hardware

Post by zefirka » 28 Nov 2018, 07:06

Hey. Need your help i cant update my 2411z v1 to v2.

Code: Select all

svn co svn://flashrom.org/flashrom/trunk@1846 flashrom
not working, need github address where i can find actual information about actual commands for flashing? Thanks

Post Reply