Blur Busters Forums

Who you gonna call? The Blur Busters! For Everything Better Than 60Hz™ Skip to content

BenQ XL2730Z Firmware Update V002

Adjusting BENQ Blur Reduction and DyAc (Dynamic Acceleration) including Blur Busters Strobe Utility. Supports most BenQ/Zowie Z-Series monitors (XL2411, XL2420, XL2720, XL2735, XL2540, XL2546)

BenQ XL2730Z Firmware Update V002

Postby Steeps » 05 Jun 2015, 09:25

It appears that BenQ has released a V002 Firmware for the XL2730Z. It is meant to fix the FreeSync/AMA issue. I guess I won't need to worry about it though since I do not have an AMD card. Just thought I would share the news.

http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/news_archiv ... z_firmware

Unfortunately:

BenQ have confirmed that the FreeSync/AMA issue has now been fixed. A driver update from AMD is already available and should be downloaded from their website. In addition BenQ will be releasing a firmware update for the monitor itself to fix this issue. Current stocks in distribution are being recalled and updated with retailers so future purchases should already carry this new firmware. This is expected to apply for stock purchased AFTER 1st July, as V002 firmware screens should be shipped by BenQ to distributors in late June.

For those who already have an XL2730Z if you want to, you can return it to BenQ for them to carry out the firmware update for you. This only applies if the user is experiencing issues with the performance of the screen. There is no simple way for the end user to update the firmware themselves and it is not encouraged. Users should contact BenQ support through their relevant country website for more information on how to return their screen for the update.
Steeps
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 15 Feb 2015, 22:40

Re: BenQ XL2730Z Firmware Update V002

Postby plex » 05 Jun 2015, 18:21

wow so i have to go without my monitor for 2 weeks to get the firmware update? there must be a way to update firmware ourselves?
plex
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Mar 2015, 12:13

Re: BenQ XL2730Z Firmware Update V002

Postby Falkentyne » 05 Jun 2015, 19:10

This is like "V2" all over again from over a year ago.
Except someone found a way to flash the firmware chip through Linux.

But this monitor uses a realtek scaler.
There's no Linux flash programmer for the "Realtek 2796B?"
Falkentyne
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

Re: BenQ XL2730Z Firmware Update V002

Postby plex » 19 Jun 2015, 20:22

so does anyone know of a way to manually flash it myself or do i need to send it in :cry:
plex
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Mar 2015, 12:13

Re: BenQ XL2730Z Firmware Update V002

Postby Falkentyne » 19 Jun 2015, 21:18

You have to send it in.
And single strobe at 60hz and 100hz are STILL completely broken ! :/
Falkentyne
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

Re: BenQ XL2730Z Firmware Update V002

Postby Chief Blur Buster » 19 Jun 2015, 22:54

I am suggesting to BENQ that they provide an easy utility to upgrade the monitors, from now on in the future.

Modern monitors now need to be easily user-upgradeable, much like iPhones and Androids are. Perhaps via utilizing the USB hub built into the monitor, as an easier method to upload a flash upgrade to it.
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter!
To support Blur Busters: Official List of Best Gaming Monitors | G-SYNC | FreeSync | Ultrawide
User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44

Re: BenQ XL2730Z Firmware Update V002

Postby plex » 21 Jun 2015, 16:45

Chief Blur Buster wrote:I am suggesting to BENQ that they provide an easy utility to upgrade the monitors, from now on in the future.

Modern monitors now need to be easily user-upgradeable, much like iPhones and Androids are. Perhaps via utilizing the USB hub built into the monitor, as an easier method to upload a flash upgrade to it.


That's a brilliant idea.. many users buying these monitors are much more advanced and willing to do this type of thing on their own anyways just for the fun of it. I guess i should get this thing sent in NOW before my AMD Fury X gets here Friday.. :P
plex
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Mar 2015, 12:13

Re: BenQ XL2730Z Firmware Update V002

Postby troybal » 23 Jun 2015, 21:41

Does anyone know how to tell what version of Firmware you have for the BenQ XL2730Z? I have that monitor however not sure where to check.
troybal
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 23 Jun 2015, 21:39

Re: BenQ XL2730Z Firmware Update V002

Postby Falkentyne » 23 Jun 2015, 22:22

It's the same keystroke from the other Z series monitors.

The first service menu, with the firmware version (which no longer has the strobe duty/phase/single strobe adjustments anymore) is
power off monitor, hold button #4 for 5 seconds, then press power and then release both power and, then after, button 4 in that order.

The factory menu (aka "burn-in" menu) which also has an overdrive gain setting (this may simply be the exact same as "AMA", although people would need to test changing this and then the AMA setting afterwards, or vice versa), is button #3 and #4 (enter+menu) for 5 seconds and then pressing power to power on.

There's a lot more stuff in the factory menu than there is in the previous blur reduction monitors (2430T, 2720Z, 2420Z, 2411Z).
Falkentyne
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

Re: BenQ XL2730Z Firmware Update V002

Postby troybal » 24 Jun 2015, 00:35

Falkentyne wrote:It's the same keystroke from the other Z series monitors.

The first service menu, with the firmware version (which no longer has the strobe duty/phase/single strobe adjustments anymore) is
power off monitor, hold button #4 for 5 seconds, then press power and then release both power and, then after, button 4 in that order.

The factory menu (aka "burn-in" menu) which also has an overdrive gain setting (this may simply be the exact same as "AMA", although people would need to test changing this and then the AMA setting afterwards, or vice versa), is button #3 and #4 (enter+menu) for 5 seconds and then pressing power to power on.

There's a lot more stuff in the factory menu than there is in the previous blur reduction monitors (2430T, 2720Z, 2420Z, 2411Z).

Great, thanks,
I was able to see that the monitor is on V002.
FirmwareMonitor2.jpg
FirmwareMonitor2.jpg (102.48 KiB) Viewed 5235 times
troybal
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 23 Jun 2015, 21:39

Next

Return to BENQ/Zowie Tweaking — Strobe Utility / Blur Reduction / DyAc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 4 guests