Blur Busters Forums

Who you gonna call? The Blur Busters! For Everything Better Than 60Hz™ Skip to content

Benq Service/Factory Menus, VT tweaks, XLX2720Z AMA Low

Adjusting BENQ Blur Reduction and DyAc (Dynamic Acceleration) including Blur Busters Strobe Utility. Supports most BenQ/Zowie Z-Series monitors (XL2411, XL2420, XL2720, XL2735, XL2540, XL2546)

Re: Benq Service/Factory Menus, VT tweaks, XLX2720Z AMA Low

Postby ziocomposite » 02 Feb 2016, 23:55

Falk you genius!

I've tested and confirmed on V4 that Blur Reduction off trick also works! :) Amazing work as always.
ziocomposite
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 Jul 2015, 11:59

Re: Benq Service/Factory Menus, VT tweaks, XLX2720Z AMA Low

Postby Falkentyne » 03 Feb 2016, 00:04

Glad it works for you!

I rarely turn off blur reduction, and if I do, it's usually at 144hz (Crosstalk covers half the screen if blur reduction is enabled at 144hz, Jesus Christ), and if blur reduction is off, there's WAY too much overdrive streaking unless you do the toggle.
Falkentyne
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

Re: Benq Service/Factory Menus, VT tweaks, XLX2720Z AMA Low

Postby ziocomposite » 04 Feb 2016, 11:18

It's really useful for console games that only reach 30 FPS. I'm mostly at 90-120hz blur reduction a majority of the time on PC. :)
ziocomposite
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 Jul 2015, 11:59

Re: Benq Service/Factory Menus, VT tweaks, XLX2720Z AMA Low

Postby Falkentyne » 27 Mar 2016, 17:04

Going to bump this.
Falkentyne
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

Re: Benq Service/Factory Menus, VT tweaks, XLX2720Z AMA Low

Postby onnorgs » 07 Aug 2016, 07:35

Thank you for your great effort. I have an easy questions for benq xl2411z v4 firmware,

1)using gtx 760 with 368.81 driver. I can use VT 1500 tweaks without apply pixel clock patcher (using nvidia CP).

1920x1080 resolution
Front porch 48/3
Sync Width 32/5
Horizontal / Vertical total 2080 / 1500
374.4 mhz pixel clock.

Is this normal to reach these values without applying pixel patcher?

2)You said
go to AMA and press enter once so "High" is highlighted, then press back (or button #4).
Alterntively, move the AMA slider from high to off/premium then back to high, to OVERWRITE the current AMA high setting with an undocumented lower level version.


i applied this, and your are really genius!. I noticed the difference. But there is a problem here. When i power off and power on monitor (or changing brightness etc), this settings are gone. I have to do this again. is this normal?
onnorgs
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 07 Aug 2016, 07:21

Re: Benq Service/Factory Menus, VT tweaks, XLX2720Z AMA Low

Postby Falkentyne » 07 Aug 2016, 10:04

I suggest you use TOASTYX CRU to enter these custom resolutions AND YOU MUST USE THE PIXEL PATCHER!!

Do not trust the Nvidia CP! I have seen people enter 180hz refresh rates on a xl2411z with it and the NVCP accepted it. The video card driver thought the refresh was 180hz but the monitor was only receiving 144hz, causing a huge desync and stutters as games tried to run at 180hz/180 fps with a 144hz signal. This is because the NVCP creates GPU scaled resolutions, which is why you can create a 3200x1800 resolution and have it work, because its actually 1920x1080 resized by the video card.

Also, VT resolutions created WITH the NVCP and using the clock patcher actually lagged and caused dizziness in another user (I think monitor_butt), when he used toastyx CRU instead, everything felt much better and his dizziness and strange lags went away.
Falkentyne
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

Re: Benq Service/Factory Menus, VT tweaks, XLX2720Z AMA Low

Postby onnorgs » 07 Aug 2016, 10:34

Thank you.As a result, i ll use Toastyx's CRU for vt tweak.

i added a new question to my post. What can we say about this?
onnorgs
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 07 Aug 2016, 07:21

Re: Benq Service/Factory Menus, VT tweaks, XLX2720Z AMA Low

Postby Falkentyne » 07 Aug 2016, 13:30

I have to go somewhere right now.

About the "AMA low toggle", when blur reduction is enabled, it's more than just turning the monitor off making it revert.

EVEN changing the BRIGHTNESS By ONE POINT reverts the AMA level instantly.
And changing ANY strobe setting by even 1 point (Duty, Phase, Single Strobe on/off EVEN if ur at 100+hz refresh rate) reverts the AMA.
Changing contrast, gamma, sharpness, etc is safe. In fact, on the XL2720Z, you need to change contrast as the overdrive setting tends to be too low after doing the toggle, and lowering the contrast reduces the effect of a too low overdrive. On the XL2411Z and XL2420Z, you don't need to change the contrast, as the AMA is only lowered by a small amount. On the XL2720Z, it's lowered drastically (remember this is a 27" panel vs the 24" panels on the other models).

If you did this trick with the profile bug to get AMA low with blur reduction DISABLED, then changing strobe settings doesn't change the AMA (since MBR is off) and changing brightness won't revert the AMA either. But changing refresh rates, changing display mode picture settings, etc, anything that fully refreshes the monitor, will revert the AMA.

I use this page to test if the AMA Reverts or not: You can easily tell by looking at how the OVERDRIVE GHOSTING APPEARS:

http://www.testufo.com/#test=photo&phot ... &height=-1

Your timing values and pixel clock are perfect. You will have zero problems with those timings at both 100hz and 120hz.

I found that 125hz works best at slightly different timings. (125hz divides evenly into 500hz for 500hz polling gaming mice, while 120hz does not...sometimes if using VT 1500 at 125hz, when you switch picture modes, sometimes (not always), the monitor will stutter and backlight will pulsate. This is due to the scalar not liking that VT. Usually there is always ONE VT in the range of VT 1497-VT 1502 which will work the best. 125hz works best with VT 1497 (pixel clock 389.22 MHz)

Example: 85hz refresh rate is only stable with VT 1501. While 1497, 1498, 1499, 1500, 1502 all cause pulsating backlight and frame stutters on the monitor scalar end.

Random fact before I leave:
You can run your monitor at 2560x1440@100hz.

Enter these timings in CRU:
2560x1440
48,3
32,5
HT: 2720
VT: 1502
refresh rate: 100hz
Pixel clock: 408.55 hz.

Note: Crosstalk will be IDENTICAL to 1920x1080@100hz WITHOUT a VT tweak. That's because we are using the VT tweak itself to trick the scalar into accepting 2560x1440. Even though crosstalk will be high, Strobe phase >059 will still shut off the backlight.
Falkentyne
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

Re: Benq Service/Factory Menus, VT tweaks, XLX2720Z AMA Low

Postby Ozzuneoj » 13 Oct 2016, 13:45

Sorry for bumping a really old thread, I just wanted to ask for some clarification. Repeatedly I've read that DisplayPort limits 8bpc to 360Mhz pixel clock, beyond that it will drop to 6bpc.

I have been assuming this to be true, since it is repeated here often, however when I actually research it it seems that this relates to the older DP 1.1 spec only. The XL2720Z has DP 1.2 and any nvidia card since Kepler (650, 660, 670, 680 series) in 2012 has supported DP 1.2

So why is there so much mention of DP having limits that predate the monitors (and likely the video cards) that the thread is about? I'm sure some of the older models may have DP 1.1, but with all of the highly technical information here, there should certainly have been some kind of distinction made for owners of later models with DP 1.2.

If I'd known that these limits didn't exist on a modern DP 1.2 setup (I have a GTX 970 and an XL2720Z) I'd probably have switched to displayport a while ago, but being that this site is the best source of information about tweaking these monitors, I was led to believe that DVI was superior for this particular setup, so that's what I've continued to use.
Ozzuneoj
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 13 Oct 2016, 13:35

Re: Benq Service/Factory Menus, VT tweaks, XLX2720Z AMA Low

Postby Falkentyne » 13 Oct 2016, 16:05

Ugh, I forgot, actually. I remember I emailed VESA/displayport.org about this, and they told me that the older Benq Z series monitors don't support a certain hardware specification for full DP 1.2 compliance, that is the 660 mhz(?) clock limit and the exceeding 360 mhz for 8 bpc. But I don't remember what it was called. I think ToastyX told me also. So I think these monitors only support DP 1.1 or 1.1a. Or maybe it was "high bit rate 2" that was missing, and these monitors support DP 1.2 without high bit rate 2.

I would suggest you ask VESA about this. They usually reply pretty quickly. You can also contact them on displayport.org.
Falkentyne
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

PreviousNext

Return to BENQ/Zowie Tweaking — Strobe Utility / Blur Reduction / DyAc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests