Blur Busters Forums

Who you gonna call? The Blur Busters! For Everything Better Than 60Hz™ Skip to content

ANNOUNCED: Blur Busters Strobe Utility -- for BENQ Z-Series!

Adjusting BENQ Blur Reduction and DyAc (Dynamic Acceleration) including Blur Busters Strobe Utility. Supports most BenQ/Zowie Z-Series monitors (XL2411, XL2420, XL2720, XL2735, XL2540, XL2546)

Re: ANNOUNCED: Blur Busters Strobe Utility -- for BENQ Z-Ser

Postby Chief Blur Buster » 02 Apr 2014, 11:40

xwgpx55 wrote:I feel like it's a combination of the screen coloring and the lack of brightness due to the blur reduction (even with the Blur Buster's tool jacked up all the way for max brightness)

You will get more brightness if you apply the Vertical Total 1350 tweak. The Utility actually uses longer strobe lengths when the VT1350 trick is done, which appears to approximately double the screen brightness.

To fix the gamma, adjust the "Gamma" setting via the monitor -- which will greatly improve this.
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter!
To support Blur Busters: Official List of Best Gaming Monitors | G-SYNC | FreeSync | Ultrawide
User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3835
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44

Re: ANNOUNCED: Blur Busters Strobe Utility -- for BENQ Z-Ser

Postby Chief Blur Buster » 02 Apr 2014, 11:45

Rennkuckuck wrote:I upgraded my 27020Z to Firmware V002 but can not run the Blurbusters Strobe Utility.. instead I got the attached message followed by a red message "Error During Detecting Monitors!" DDC/CI is turned ON.
The BenQ service page lets me adjust strobe duty and phase. I tried different DVI port of my GTX670 but there is no difference - what else could have gone wrong?

This type of issue can be quite challenging to track down. Which graphics drivers are you using? Also, I have heard that sometimes a specific DVI cable causes problems, because it uses the DDC/CI wire of the cable, and if that wire is missing, it will become unable to control the monitor. Switching between DVI and DisplayPort can help, too. Also, versions of Windows can influence this. Trying a different computer can help (even a laptop) before switching back to the original computer for playing.

As a last resort, yes, the BENQ Service Menu will allow you to adjust the settings (but at greater difficulty and inconvenience). You will want to enable Single Strobe, then adjust Strobe Duty / Strobe Phase in lieu of Persistence / Crosstalk. You will have to readjust everytime you use a different refresh rate, though. Future Versions of Blur Busters software will likely provide enhanced features, such as separate memories/profiles for each different refresh rates.
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter!
To support Blur Busters: Official List of Best Gaming Monitors | G-SYNC | FreeSync | Ultrawide
User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3835
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44

Re: ANNOUNCED: Blur Busters Strobe Utility -- for BENQ Z-Ser

Postby Rennkuckuck » 02 Apr 2014, 12:42

Chief Blur Buster wrote:
Rennkuckuck wrote:I upgraded my 27020Z to Firmware V002 but can not run the Blurbusters Strobe Utility.. instead I got the attached message followed by a red message "Error During Detecting Monitors!" DDC/CI is turned ON.
The BenQ service page lets me adjust strobe duty and phase. I tried different DVI port of my GTX670 but there is no difference - what else could have gone wrong?

This type of issue can be quite challenging to track down. Which graphics drivers are you using? Also, I have heard that sometimes a specific DVI cable causes problems, because it uses the DDC/CI wire of the cable, and if that wire is missing, it will become unable to control the monitor. Switching between DVI and DisplayPort can help, too. Also, versions of Windows can influence this. Trying a different computer can help (even a laptop) before switching back to the original computer for playing.

As a last resort, yes, the BENQ Service Menu will allow you to adjust the settings (but at greater difficulty and inconvenience). You will want to enable Single Strobe, then adjust Strobe Duty / Strobe Phase in lieu of Persistence / Crosstalk. You will have to readjust everytime you use a different refresh rate, though. Future Versions of Blur Busters software will likely provide enhanced features, such as separate memories/profiles for each different refresh rates.


I use NVidias latest official driver 335.23 and use the DVI cable that came with the monitor. Also tried another DVI Dual Link cable - with the same result. I do not have a DP cable and my notebook does only have VGA and HDMI output.
User avatar
Rennkuckuck
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 13 Mar 2014, 16:19

Re: ANNOUNCED: Blur Busters Strobe Utility -- for BENQ Z-Ser

Postby Chief Blur Buster » 02 Apr 2014, 12:47

Rennkuckuck wrote:I use NVidias latest official driver 335.23 and use the DVI cable that came with the monitor. Also tried another DVI Dual Link cable - with the same result. I do not have a DP cable and my notebook does only have VGA and HDMI output.

Can you quickly double check if "DDC/CI" is turned on via your monitor?
Also, Strobe Utility may also work over VGA (which has a DDC line), however it will likely only work at lower refresh rates.
Failing this, continue using the Service Menu settings while viewing moving photos at www.testufo.com/photo in Height-> Full Screen. This will help you calibrate via the Service Menu. Strobe Duty will affect brightness, and Strobe Phase will adjust the vertical positioning of the ghosting zone, while doing the VT1350 trick will allow you to hide most of the ghosting zone in the blanking interval between refreshes.
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter!
To support Blur Busters: Official List of Best Gaming Monitors | G-SYNC | FreeSync | Ultrawide
User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3835
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44

Re: ANNOUNCED: Blur Busters Strobe Utility -- for BENQ Z-Ser

Postby xwgpx55 » 02 Apr 2014, 13:20

Chief Blur Buster wrote:
xwgpx55 wrote:I feel like it's a combination of the screen coloring and the lack of brightness due to the blur reduction (even with the Blur Buster's tool jacked up all the way for max brightness)

You will get more brightness if you apply the Vertical Total 1350 tweak. The Utility actually uses longer strobe lengths when the VT1350 trick is done, which appears to approximately double the screen brightness.

To fix the gamma, adjust the "Gamma" setting via the monitor -- which will greatly improve this.



I thought that 1350 tweak doesn't work if you run at 144hz?
xwgpx55
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 06:51

Re: ANNOUNCED: Blur Busters Strobe Utility -- for BENQ Z-Ser

Postby Rennkuckuck » 02 Apr 2014, 13:37

Chief Blur Buster wrote:
Rennkuckuck wrote:I use NVidias latest official driver 335.23 and use the DVI cable that came with the monitor. Also tried another DVI Dual Link cable - with the same result. I do not have a DP cable and my notebook does only have VGA and HDMI output.

Can you quickly double check if "DDC/CI" is turned on via your monitor?
Also, Strobe Utility may also work over VGA (which has a DDC line), however it will likely only work at lower refresh rates.
Failing this, continue using the Service Menu settings while viewing moving photos at http://www.testufo.com/photo in Height-> Full Screen. This will help you calibrate via the Service Menu. Strobe Duty will affect brightness, and Strobe Phase will adjust the vertical positioning of the ghosting zone, while doing the VT1350 trick will allow you to hide most of the ghosting zone in the blanking interval between refreshes.


I do not really know why but after some adjusting and trials to optimize the settings via the BenQ Service Page all over sudden it works ! :D
I did the 1350 line adjustment again, and saved some settings via the BenQ Save settings - i.e. Gamer 1 function? Is there a relation in this? Or was it just coincidence that it works now?
Attachments
monitor found.jpg
monitor found.jpg (102.31 KiB) Viewed 3428 times
User avatar
Rennkuckuck
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 13 Mar 2014, 16:19

Re: ANNOUNCED: Blur Busters Strobe Utility -- for BENQ Z-Ser

Postby Chief Blur Buster » 02 Apr 2014, 13:46

Very interesting!
Possibly, it needed a full hard-reset cycle (computer poweroff, monitor poweroff & unplug) for everything to begin working.
Alternatively, maybe displaying the service menu caused this to work.

Glad to know it is working now! Now you can adjust much more easily than via the Service Menu.
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter!
To support Blur Busters: Official List of Best Gaming Monitors | G-SYNC | FreeSync | Ultrawide
User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3835
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44

Re: ANNOUNCED: Blur Busters Strobe Utility -- for BENQ Z-Ser

Postby Chief Blur Buster » 02 Apr 2014, 13:47

xwgpx55 wrote:I thought that 1350 tweak doesn't work if you run at 144hz?

This is true. That's why strobe quality is much better at 120Hz than at 144Hz.
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter!
To support Blur Busters: Official List of Best Gaming Monitors | G-SYNC | FreeSync | Ultrawide
User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3835
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44

Re: ANNOUNCED: Blur Busters Strobe Utility -- for BENQ Z-Ser

Postby xwgpx55 » 02 Apr 2014, 14:09

Chief Blur Buster wrote:
xwgpx55 wrote:I thought that 1350 tweak doesn't work if you run at 144hz?

This is true. That's why strobe quality is much better at 120Hz than at 144Hz.


So you do you suggest me to ultimately run at 120Hz on my game and natively instead?
xwgpx55
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 06:51

Re: ANNOUNCED: Blur Busters Strobe Utility -- for BENQ Z-Ser

Postby Falkentyne » 02 Apr 2014, 20:54

AMD users may need to use the pixel bandwidth patcher or the 120hz/1350 tweak will NOT work, as the driver won't allow anything over 330 bandwidth to work, so that resolution will be ignored. 100 hz/1500 tweak may work without the patcher, as the bandwidth is exactly 330 mhz. This may be different for 24" screens. Also the 24 and 27" screens have different porch /pixel/line totals; you will need to use the one from the 24" for 120hz to work, that has 336mhz bandwidth (the higher default settings on the 27" will use 356 MHz bandwidth and will corrupt the screen with swimming pixels. 24" should have 2080/1125 by default, while the 27" screens have 2200/1125. Just changing 2200 to 2080 and nothing else, should work, though you can also change the sync width and porch settings to match the screenshot shown on the tweak page. (CRU has extra options not shown in the Nvidia CP; you can just ignore those).

Personally I'd use 100 hz. If you read the TFT central review of the 2420Z (this seems to go into far more detail on color/gamma shift than the 2720z review does, while the 2720z goes into more detail on strobing), you'll see that 60 hz has the BEST color (common for every monitor made with this panel, e.g. vg248qe, xl2411t, xl2420/2720t/z/x, etc (they all seem to be the same manufacturer/panel make, just different sizes). 100hz has minor tradeoff on gamma/color while still being decently accurate, with 120 and 144hz falling off more. Use a crosstalk setting of far left, 1 or 2 notches to the right (game or desktop) for best effect, and 1.0ms persistence!

Not only is 100 fps easier to maintain @ 100hz, you can then use a 1500 tweak instead of 1350, which eliminates almost all of the inverse crosstalk, leaving only a few lines at the far top and far bottom (or very minor scrolling text ghosting along the bottom in 2d (scrolling a notepad window, etc), which should be virtually unnoticeable and clean in games.
120hz Lightboost (Vg248, etc) based crosstalk still looks better (you can't see any bad crosstalk effect on the alien invasion ufo test), but it's rather close at this 100 hz/1500 vertical total tweak, and you can adjust colors/gamma etc.
Do not attempt to use any of the monitor scaling/aspect settings if using the 1500 @100hz tweak; you will get swimming pixels.
Falkentyne
 
Posts: 2368
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

PreviousNext

Return to BENQ/Zowie Tweaking — Strobe Utility / Blur Reduction / DyAc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest