Blur Busters Forums

Who you gonna call? The Blur Busters! For Everything Better Than 60Hz™ Skip to content

Dumb questions for owners of the Benq XL2720Z

Adjusting BENQ Blur Reduction and DyAc (Dynamic Acceleration) including Blur Busters Strobe Utility. Supports most BenQ/Zowie Z-Series monitors (XL2411, XL2420, XL2720, XL2735, XL2540, XL2546)

Dumb questions for owners of the Benq XL2720Z

Postby RostokMcSpoons » 25 Mar 2014, 13:06

Well, I'm an owner, and pretty damned pleased with my purchase (after 3-4 hours of gaming) even though I've not really got it setup properly yet.

But I have some questions I'm hoping other owners can help me with:

1) The S-Switch. I messed around in the menu and re-assigned the 3 buttons to do stuff I thought would be useful, (blur reduction, brightness, contrast), but what I really want is one-touch switching between the 3 user-defined Gamer profiles. Is there a way to assign those? Or should I reset my monitor to factory defaults? The way I read the instructions last night (whilst too tired and too keen to get playing) it seemed a bit self-contradictory about how the switch could be used.

2) I tried the Toasty 1350 lines utility trick, but I don't know if it's working correctly or I messed it up. I can still see ghosting on the motion tests with blur reduction enabled - I know it's not a complete fix, but I can't tell if it has improved it. Is there anyway to show for certain it's working?

3) I've tried the monitor at 144, then 120 and now I'm running at 100hz, as that's a better match for my average framerate in BF4. The information display on the monitor's OSD always says 60hz! TestUFO and BF4 are both reporting 100fps, so is that a known bug?

4) It's almost certain I've got V1 firmware... is running the blurbuster utility the easiest way of confirming that?
(I live not too far from Benq's service center in Bicester, so presumably I can haul my monitor in there on a weekday and get it upgraded?)


Apologies if these questions are so dumb I've just melted your brain cells ;)
RostokMcSpoons
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Mar 2014, 12:41

Re: Dumb questions for owners of the Benq XL2720Z

Postby Chief Blur Buster » 25 Mar 2014, 13:51

RostokMcSpoons wrote:1) The S-Switch. I messed around in the menu and re-assigned the 3 buttons to do stuff...

I find it easier to use it as a fast menu navigation method, since the touch buttons can be a little finicky (especially if bezels are touching each other in multimonitor setups). One button can be used to quickly turn on/off BENQ Blur Reduction. I didn't research more into how reprogrammable the buttons are, but I'm sure other forum users could chime in -- any tips?

RostokMcSpoons wrote:2) I tried the Toasty 1350 lines utility trick, but I don't know if it's working correctly or I messed it up. I can still see ghosting on the motion tests with blur reduction enabled - I know it's not a complete fix, but I can't tell if it has improved it. Is there anyway to show for certain it's working?

The 1350 trick pushes the ghosting zone a few rows of UFO's downwards (in TestUFO Alien Invasion Test), but it's more fully adjustable when running the Blur Busters Strobe Utility. The ghosting zone moves upwards/downwards when you adjust the "Crosstalk" setting in Strobe Utility.

RostokMcSpoons wrote:3) I've tried the monitor at 144, then 120 and now I'm running at 100hz, as that's a better match for my average framerate in BF4. The information display on the monitor's OSD always says 60hz! TestUFO and BF4 are both reporting 100fps, so is that a known bug?

-- When using BENQ Blur Reduction, using 100fps at 100Hz does produce the cleanest-looking motion in BF4, when clear motion is prioritized over input lag.
-- That said, if you turn off BENQ Blur Reduction, running at 144fps VSYNC OFF will reduce input lag versus motion.

RostokMcSpoons wrote:4) It's almost certain I've got V1 firmware... is running the blurbuster utility the easiest way of confirming that? (I live not too far from Benq's service center in Bicester, so presumably I can haul my monitor in there on a weekday and get it upgraded?)

Yes. There are two ways:
-- Run Blur Busters Strobe Utility. Running it will inform you whether or not you're running old firmware.
-- Or bring up service menu. See instructions at bottom of Strobe Utility page to view the service menu. V1 firmwares will show V001, while V2 firmwares will show V002.

RostokMcSpoons wrote:Apologies if these questions are so dumb I've just melted your brain cells ;)

There are no dumb questions on Blur Busters Forums ;)
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter!
To support Blur Busters: Official List of Best Gaming Monitors | G-SYNC | FreeSync | Ultrawide
User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3816
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44

Re: Dumb questions for owners of the Benq XL2720Z

Postby RostokMcSpoons » 26 Mar 2014, 06:35

Thanks for the replies..
I'll now do my very best to disprove the 'no dumb questions' part... ;)

I'm still struggling with the menu system and the profiles... it's not behaving quite how I'd expect (as my day job is web designer / builder and applications programmer I don't think I'm being spectacularly stupid / obtuse / weird, but let's see...)

I performed a 'reset all' and then meddled with the colour balance, I upped the red and lowered the green and blue to get a red-tinged screen, then saved as Gamer 1. I then created a green tinge, saved as Gamer 2, then blue for 3. Cycling through these profiles didn't seem to recall these settings. Assigning blur reduction to a profile didn't seem to stick either. I'll have another go tonight, but you'd expect those settings to form part of the profile, wouldn't you?

A general thing about the Blur Reduction mode. It really does need the framerate to match the refresh rate setting doesn't it? I was on a BF4 server last night with a high player count, and consequently my framerate was dropping into the 50's. The refresh rate was at 100hz. With blur reduction on, I saw some quite strong artefacts as I panned. The image was much improved by turning it off.
I'm looking forward to upgrading my PC now, to chase those higher framerates... I'm CPU throttled at the moment (Q6600 @ 3.3ghz... I'll be going to an i5 @ 4+ghz)and I definitely want that clarity I can get when the rates match :)

I did try to use 75hz as the refresh rate, but it's not available at 19x10 resolution... should I be fiddling with the Toasty utility to allow that rate?


Oh, I ran the blur buster utility and yes - I'm on V1.
RostokMcSpoons
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Mar 2014, 12:41

Re: Dumb questions for owners of the Benq XL2720Z

Postby Chief Blur Buster » 26 Mar 2014, 08:20

RostokMcSpoons wrote:I'm still struggling with the menu system and the profiles... it's not behaving quite how I'd expect (as my day job is web designer / builder and applications programmer I don't think I'm being spectacularly stupid / obtuse / weird, but let's see...)

Some people find the BENQ menu system not intuitive, so to make that easier, use the BENQ controller pad -- it makes adjusting things in the menus much easier.

RostokMcSpoons wrote:I performed a 'reset all' and then meddled with the colour balance, I upped the red and lowered the green and blue to get a red-tinged screen, then saved as Gamer 1. I then created a green tinge, saved as Gamer 2, then blue for 3. Cycling through these profiles didn't seem to recall these settings. Assigning blur reduction to a profile didn't seem to stick either. I'll have another go tonight, but you'd expect those settings to form part of the profile, wouldn't you?

I have been keeping only one profile, so I'm not sure what the profiles should be saving -- but you are right.

RostokMcSpoons wrote:A general thing about the Blur Reduction mode. It really does need the framerate to match the refresh rate setting doesn't it? I was on a BF4 server last night with a high player count, and consequently my framerate was dropping into the 50's. The refresh rate was at 100hz. With blur reduction on, I saw some quite strong artefacts as I panned. The image was much improved by turning it off.

Yes, you ideally want framerates near refreshrates for Blur Reduction mode. The V1 firmware has artifacts (in bottom half of screen) too that can be adjusted with Strobe Utility, provided you have Version 2 firmware.

RostokMcSpoons wrote:I did try to use 75hz as the refresh rate, but it's not available at 19x10 resolution... should I be fiddling with the Toasty utility to allow that rate?

Yes, many refresh rates (e.g. 72Hz, 75Hz, 85Hz) can be created via either NVIDIA Custom Resolution (if you have an NVIDIA GPU), or via ToastyX.

RostokMcSpoons wrote:Oh, I ran the blur buster utility and yes - I'm on V1.

There are a few ways to get it upgraded to Version 2 -- getting BENQ to do it, or doing it yourself.
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter!
To support Blur Busters: Official List of Best Gaming Monitors | G-SYNC | FreeSync | Ultrawide
User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3816
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44


Return to BENQ/Zowie Tweaking — Strobe Utility / Blur Reduction / DyAc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests