Z Series Monitors for Surround?

Adjusting BENQ Blur Reduction and DyAc (Dynamic Acceleration) including Blur Busters Strobe Utility. Supports most BenQ/Zowie Z-Series monitors (XL2411, XL2420, XL2720, XL2735, XL2540, XL2546)
johnny26

Z Series Monitors for Surround?

Post by johnny26 » 28 Apr 2014, 08:41

Hi All,

I currently have XL2420TEs in surround. I am considering the Z series but am not sure it would be any benefit running in surround. My understanding is that I would need to maintain at least 100fps/100hz to run Blur Reduction. Can someone confirm? If I am running surround and my fps dips at times and I have Blur Reduction turned on, will it cause images to look "off"(ghosting, stutter, etc..). For the most part I can hit 100plus but it can dip at times depending upon the game. If I happen to dip below 100 fps will Blur Reduction come back on if I jump back up to 100fps matching my refresh rate? Should I just stick with the TEs? I read the forums but I am a bit of a noob so any information is appreciated.

Also, I am considering a move from 24 inch monitors to 27. Everything I read says stick with 24 inch at 1080p due to pixel becoming more apparent at the larger screen size. Anyone with experience in this area?

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin

Re: Z Series Monitors for Surround?

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 30 Apr 2014, 10:28

Short answer: Yes, it is worth it, if you use "LightBoost" and want it to work easily in surround more.
The Z-Series makes surround mode strobing (CRT clarity motion) very easy on all GPUs without hassle, as the LightBoost-style strobing (BENQ Blur Reduction) is easily enabled via the monitor menus. If you do not use LightBoost, there's really little difference between XL2420TE and XL2420Z.

Long answer: See below.