Blur Busters Forums

Who you gonna call? The Blur Busters! For Everything Better Than 60Hz™ Skip to content

Freesync with Nvidia

Talk about AMD's FreeSync and VESA AdaptiveSync, which are variable refresh rate technologies. They also eliminate stutters, and eliminate tearing. List of FreeSync Monitors.

Freesync with Nvidia

Postby lossofmercy » 22 Aug 2018, 09:20

https://www.reddit.com/r/hardware/comme ... n_amd_gpu/

I recently had an idea while playing the latest WoW expansion. In the game and in a few others these days is the ability to select the rendering GPU. I currently have a GTX 1080 Ti and a Freesync monitor. So I added an AMD GPU I had on hand and connected my Freesync monitor to it. In this case it's a Radeon Pro WX 4100.

With the game displaying and rendering through the AMD GPU Freesync worked as expected. When switching to rendering with the Nvidia GPU Freesync continued to work flawlessly as verified in the monitor OSD while the game was undoubtedly rendered by the 1080 Ti.

This leaves an interesting option to use Freesync through an old AMD GPU. I'm sure there is a somewhat significant performance drop from copying the display to the other GPU but the benefits of Freesync may offset that.

My next thought was to try the the GPU selector that Microsoft added in 1803 but I can't convince it that either gpu is a Power Saving option. https://imgur.com/CHwG29f

I remember efforts in the past to get an egpu to display on an internal Laptop screen but from what I can find there's no great solution to do this in all applications.

*Edit Pictures:

WX 4100 https://imgur.com/a/asaG8Lc 1080 Ti https://imgur.com/a/IvH1tjQ

I also edited my MG279 to 56-144hz range. Still works great.
lossofmercy
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 06 Feb 2018, 18:00

Re: Freesync with Nvidia

Postby lossofmercy » 22 Aug 2018, 09:22

Man, if this works with the Samsung TVs... this might be a really useful.
lossofmercy
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 06 Feb 2018, 18:00

Re: Freesync with Nvidia

Postby RealNC » 22 Aug 2018, 10:51

If this actually works, I suspect nvidia will lock it down in a driver update soon :P
TwitterSteamGitHubStack Overflow
The views and opinions expressed in my posts are my own and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Blur Busters.
User avatar
RealNC
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: 24 Dec 2013, 18:32

Re: Freesync with Nvidia

Postby lossofmercy » 22 Aug 2018, 12:58

Would be a classic Nvidia move.
lossofmercy
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 06 Feb 2018, 18:00

Re: Freesync with Nvidia

Postby BattleAxeVR » 24 Aug 2018, 10:31

IF NVidia can patch this out. I'm not entirely sure, because you can always use a different GPU for rendering than the one connected to the display. Windows internally takes care of surface sharing and duplication.


I guess they use v-sync off? I mean, if you don't have a G-sync monitor attached to the NVidia GPU then it will fail to activate G-Sync, but v-sync off should work and if Windows properly forwards those calls to the AMD-connected display with Freesync then I'm not sure how NVidia could block it without breaking basic Windows functionality.

Typically games will always default to the main monitor but if you can override the GPU that the game uses in this way, then I don't really see what NVidia can do about it. A driver that prevents this hack from working might require roadblocks that make it non WHQL compliant.

If they do manage to patch it out though, I'm working on another solution similar to this idea, that should be bulletproof. But it won't be free.
BattleAxeVR
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 14 Dec 2017, 11:38

Re: Freesync with Nvidia

Postby lossofmercy » 27 Aug 2018, 17:33

I will wait for people to iron this out. Because this potentially means I will buy a Samsung TV next year.
lossofmercy
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 06 Feb 2018, 18:00

Re: Freesync with Nvidia

Postby Chief Blur Buster » 30 Apr 2019, 18:08

It's no longer necessary to use this trick -- NVIDIA now directly supports FreeSync via the "G-SYNC Compatible" mode. The latest drivers make it much easier.

That said, it only works over a DisplayPort cable, not an HDMI cable.

Potentially, an adaptor device with a DisplayID/EDID translator, might be able to translate DisplayPort FreeSync into HDMI FreeSync. But I don't think such a device exists (yet...)
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter

       To support Blur Busters:
       • Official List of Best Gaming Monitors
       • List of G-SYNC Monitors
       • List of FreeSync Monitors
       • List of Ultrawide Monitors
User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6260
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44

Re: Freesync with Nvidia

Postby tygeezy » 13 May 2019, 16:47

Chief Blur Buster wrote:It's no longer necessary to use this trick -- NVIDIA now directly supports FreeSync via the "G-SYNC Compatible" mode. The latest drivers make it much easier.

That said, it only works over a DisplayPort cable, not an HDMI cable.

Potentially, an adaptor device with a DisplayID/EDID translator, might be able to translate DisplayPort FreeSync into HDMI FreeSync. But I don't think such a device exists (yet...)

It is for Samsung TV's because there is no displayport on their televisions.
User avatar
tygeezy
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 29 Feb 2016, 21:56

Re: Freesync with Nvidia

Postby Vega » 14 May 2019, 12:50

tygeezy wrote:
Chief Blur Buster wrote:It's no longer necessary to use this trick -- NVIDIA now directly supports FreeSync via the "G-SYNC Compatible" mode. The latest drivers make it much easier.

That said, it only works over a DisplayPort cable, not an HDMI cable.

Potentially, an adaptor device with a DisplayID/EDID translator, might be able to translate DisplayPort FreeSync into HDMI FreeSync. But I don't think such a device exists (yet...)

It is for Samsung TV's because there is no displayport on their televisions.


Are you saying Freesync (G-Sync) is working with a NVIDIA GPU via HDMI 2.0x on a Samsung TV? Any source?
Vega
 
Posts: 178
Joined: 18 Dec 2013, 21:33

Re: Freesync with Nvidia

Postby sharknice » 15 May 2019, 09:33

No, he's saying you still have to use an amd integrated GPU and do the windows power saving mode trick to be able to use HDMI freesync.
User avatar
sharknice
 
Posts: 271
Joined: 23 Dec 2013, 17:16
Location: Minnesota

Next

Return to FreeSync

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest