couple questions about freesync

Talk about AMD's FreeSync and VESA AdaptiveSync, which are variable refresh rate technologies. They also eliminate stutters, and eliminate tearing. List of FreeSync Monitors.
fowteen

couple questions about freesync

Post by fowteen » 18 Mar 2020, 16:36

hey i am new to all of this adaptive sync stuff so i am trying to understand things a little at a time by asking some questions. I read in g sync 101 that when freesync is active, no other sync method is active so I was wondering when does vsync activate when both freesync and vsync are enabled. Also was wondering what situations/games would you use no freesync + no vsync, freesync on + vsync off, both on.

jorimt

Re: couple questions about freesync

Post by jorimt » 18 Mar 2020, 17:37

fowteen wrote:
18 Mar 2020, 16:36
hey i am new to all of this adaptive sync stuff so i am trying to understand things a little at a time by asking some questions. I read in g sync 101 that when freesync is active, no other sync method is active so I was wondering when does vsync activate when both freesync and vsync are enabled. Also was wondering what situations/games would you use no freesync + no vsync, freesync on + vsync off, both on.
As stated in the second entry of my Closing FAQ:
https://blurbusters.com/gsync/gsync101- ... ttings/15/
Wait, why should I enable V-SYNC with G-SYNC again? And why am I still seeing tearing with G-SYNC enabled and V-SYNC disabled? Isn’t G-SYNC suppose to fix that?

The answer is frametime variances.

“Frametime” denotes how long a single frame takes to render. “Framerate” is the totaled average of each frame’s render time within a one second period.

At 144Hz, a single frame takes 6.9ms to display (the number of which depends on the max refresh rate of the display, see here), so if the framerate is 144 per second, then the average frametime of 144 FPS is 6.9ms per frame.