Blurry screen normal or not at 60 fps? (PS5)

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!
Torian99

Blurry screen normal or not at 60 fps? (PS5)

Post by Torian99 » 08 Feb 2024, 23:59

Hi there, please help me clarifying things up before i get totally silly. Sorry in advance if bad english, its not my native language.

So, the last system i had was a PS3 many years ago and now i bought a PS5, so im new to the "next gen" gaming and was expecting nice fluid 60 fps gaming with a sharp looking moving picture. 2 bought and refunded new 4k TV's (in the 700€ range) and 1 gaming monitor (Gigabyte M32U) later it didnt work out so far, and im already frustrated since i dont know if i have just bought shit products or if a blurry screen is normal at 60 fps.

All those products had all the allegedly important things: 4k, 144 hz, HDMI 2.1, Game mode, FreeSync, blur reduction stuff and whatnot. Yet in games i got a very noticable blurry screen whenever i moved the camera around (no matter if fast or slow) or whenever i was looking at moving objects, that object was blurry as well. Of course i've already tried out all possible settings, also tried several hdmi cables, to no avail. Of course i turned ingame motion blur off, in games where there was a setting for it. Stuff like overshoot just added ghosting at worse, but no noticeable blur reduction. In fact turning this overshoot setting on the M32U off gave me the best picture. Now i've refunded the gaming monitor as well, standing here with a PS5 and no screen.