Blur Busters Forums

Who you gonna call? The Blur Busters! For Everything Better Than 60Hz™ Skip to content

Presenting the ZOWIE XL2540 240Hz

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!

Re: Presenting the ZOWIE XL2540 240Hz

Postby Q83Ia7ta » 28 Dec 2016, 17:57

Falkentyne wrote:GUYS
CAN YOU PLEASE CHECK TO SEE IF THE MONITOR "DOUBLE STROBES" AT 60HZ or if it SINGLE STROBES?

Strobing works on 100/120/144/240Hz. Custom resolutions with 59,61 timings also don't work. Sorry.
Q83Ia7ta
 
Posts: 595
Joined: 18 Dec 2013, 09:29

Re: Presenting the ZOWIE XL2540 240Hz

Postby Trip » 28 Dec 2016, 18:07

Q83Ia7ta wrote:
Falkentyne wrote:GUYS
CAN YOU PLEASE CHECK TO SEE IF THE MONITOR "DOUBLE STROBES" AT 60HZ or if it SINGLE STROBES?

Strobing works on 100/120/144/240Hz. Custom resolutions with 59,61 timings also don't work. Sorry.

Suprised it works at 240hz thats really awesome. Has to be a dream to play quake, tf2 or overwatch on given it only adds 4ms of extra latency at 240hz with low motion blur. Really nice find that this monitor can do that.
Trip
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 23 Apr 2014, 15:44

Re: Presenting the ZOWIE XL2540 240Hz

Postby Q83Ia7ta » 28 Dec 2016, 18:23

It's hard to notice at photo at 960pixels/sec and hard to shot (capture) with 1920pixels/sec. Yes there is crosstalk at top and bottom by default and can be moved with Area parameter. Screen is very bright. I'm surprised.
Q83Ia7ta
 
Posts: 595
Joined: 18 Dec 2013, 09:29

Re: Presenting the ZOWIE XL2540 240Hz

Postby Falkentyne » 28 Dec 2016, 18:34

Q83Ia7ta wrote:
Falkentyne wrote:GUYS
CAN YOU PLEASE CHECK TO SEE IF THE MONITOR "DOUBLE STROBES" AT 60HZ or if it SINGLE STROBES?

Strobing works on 100/120/144/240Hz. Custom resolutions with 59,61 timings also don't work. Sorry.


Most likely crosstalk can be reduced by VT tweaks. This won't work at 144/240hz, but you can try VT 1500 at 120hz and 100hz to lower strobe crosstalk.


I know VT tweaks work because the exact same scaler is used in the XL2735 (XL2730 uses an older version and doesn't work): VT 1825 works at 2560x1440 on the XL2735, reduces crosstalk.

You can try to find the max VT the XL2540 will take. But I won't buy this screen (just like I wont buy XL2735) because it double strobes at 60hz !!! Does VT higher than 1502 work?
Falkentyne
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

Re: Presenting the ZOWIE XL2540 240Hz

Postby tramas » 29 Dec 2016, 08:30

tramas wrote:Today i've received this monitor, and cheking the options i've seen this

http://i.imgur.com/aIgfFRq.jpg

I have an AMD 290 and the freesync is disabled in the drivers so, i dont know why is showing "ON" in the display information and also the current refresh rate is missing somehow. I'm coming from a 2411T 144hz and I notice kind of higher input lag on the Xl2540 maybe it's caused by the freesync always "ON" in the monitor no matter it's enabled or disabled in the AMD drivers.


Anyone knows if this is normal? I'm confused on how it works and I don't know if freesync option is off in the drivers, it also must be off in the OSD menu.
tramas
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 30 Nov 2014, 12:15

Re: Presenting the ZOWIE XL2540 240Hz

Postby lexlazootin » 29 Dec 2016, 09:06

Start a game and see if freesync is still on.
lexlazootin
 
Posts: 970
Joined: 16 Dec 2014, 02:57

Re: Presenting the ZOWIE XL2540 240Hz

Postby tramas » 29 Dec 2016, 09:28

lexlazootin wrote:Start a game and see if freesync is still on.


Yes, regardless the driver option is on or off, in desktop or ingame, the OSD info still saying Freesync ON and no current HZ because of variable HZ rate of freesync.

Trip wrote:Wait so this monitor does support blur reduction and benq does not allow you to toggle it in the standard menu. Does it look good or does it have artifacts or something. I don't understand they would not allow you to toggle something like this. How did you even get in the service menu btw? Some button combination?


Turn off the monitor and then hold the menu button (usually the 2nd button away starting from the power button) and press the power button. The screen will turn on and now the "menu" button is the "service menu" button.
tramas
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 30 Nov 2014, 12:15

Re: Presenting the ZOWIE XL2540 240Hz

Postby tramas » 29 Dec 2016, 11:14

Well I've found out myself the freesync fix. I went to CRU, then edit the monitor and unchecked this option.

http://i.imgur.com/X1HY8nf.png

Now OSD info says 1920x1080@240 both in current and in optimal resolution and the freesync ON info is gone (like when I turned on the BBR in the previous post)
tramas
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 30 Nov 2014, 12:15

Re: Presenting the ZOWIE XL2540 240Hz

Postby tramas » 29 Dec 2016, 13:19

Sorry for all the post but i'm finding new strange things that happens with the monitor.

1st of all is that you can only achieve 240hz under DP or the HDMI 2.0 outputs of the monitor, but I thought...why no DVI? Phisical resolution limitation is 2k but no hz limits...only the 330mhz pixel clock limit, but this can be patched. Also if you don't want the freesync feature like me...is not available under DVI. So I tried and it works!!

http://imgur.com/d7Xfi3e

Another thing is this -> http://imgur.com/tOgcTEF

It says "System detected some bullsh** error and cannot establish the resolution and HZ you want. It's possible that your monitor will not be compatible with the resolution and HZ that are you demanding or maybe it's the cable that conects to the monitor"

After this message the HZ went down to 144. It only happens with DP, DVI is fine with 240.
tramas
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 30 Nov 2014, 12:15

Re: Presenting the ZOWIE XL2540 240Hz

Postby Trip » 30 Dec 2016, 07:14

tramas wrote:Turn off the monitor and then hold the menu button (usually the 2nd button away starting from the power button) and press the power button. The screen will turn on and now the "menu" button is the "service menu" button.

Cheers man, bought the monitor myself now and I have to say its really nice with the blur reduction on don't know why they would exclude the feature from the regular control panel. I don't know anything about the freesync problem since I have a nvidia card.
Btw does anyone know if you can break the pixel clock limit of 600mhz for display port since vt tweaks after that limit wont work anymore at least from the nvidia control panel utility.
Trip
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 23 Apr 2014, 15:44

PreviousNext

Return to General — Displays, Graphics & More

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests