Page 1 of 1

ATTN: Zowie XL2735 owners: [Test FreeSync 'Hack']

PostPosted: 04 May 2017, 16:19
by Falkentyne
Please go into the service menu and disable DyAc (Benq blur reduction) and see if FREESYNC becomes available on an AMD Video card! Thank you very much!

Service menu:

power off (Must have been powered on previously, not unplugged), hold button #4 for 5 seconds, power on, and release button 4 after the display appears).

Re: ATTN: Zowie XL2735 owners: [Test FreeSync 'Hack']

PostPosted: 30 May 2017, 08:16
by daniel
For me it is working perfectly, why do you ask about it?

Re: ATTN: Zowie XL2735 owners: [Test FreeSync 'Hack']

PostPosted: 30 May 2017, 10:13
by Chief Blur Buster
You used FreeSync on your XL2735?

Re: ATTN: Zowie XL2735 owners: [Test FreeSync 'Hack']

PostPosted: 30 May 2017, 16:31
by Falkentyne
daniel wrote:For me it is working perfectly, why do you ask about it?


Whoa Daniel, this is amazing news if true...

can you PLEASE Confirm that you are using an XL2735 *AND* Freesync is enabled and working in the AMD Drivers?
This monitor is over $600 so I can't afford to buy one just to test it.

Can you possibly take a screenshot of the control panel with the monitor name and Radeon settings/freesync tab open?

Also is DyAC enabled or disabled?

Re: ATTN: Zowie XL2735 owners: [Test FreeSync 'Hack']

PostPosted: 31 May 2017, 22:28
by Falkentyne
Hmm, no response from Daniel...why do I have a feeling ........

Re: ATTN: Zowie XL2735 owners: [Test FreeSync 'Hack']

PostPosted: 15 May 2018, 06:04
by peanutvoid
Hey,

I own this monitor and I have tried most things to try to get it to work and it just doesn't want to work for me at all, the free-sync option is grayed out in the driver settings.

Re: ATTN: Zowie XL2735 owners: [Test FreeSync 'Hack']

PostPosted: 15 May 2018, 23:00
by Falkentyne
peanutvoid wrote:Hey,

I own this monitor and I have tried most things to try to get it to work and it just doesn't want to work for me at all, the free-sync option is grayed out in the driver settings.


Did you DISABLE DyAc in the service menu and then POWER OFF and power on the monitor completely?
You have to do that.
Just disabling DyAC and trying to enable freesync won't work.

Re: ATTN: Zowie XL2735 owners: [Test FreeSync 'Hack']

PostPosted: 16 May 2018, 05:02
by peanutvoid
Yes I did. I turned off DyAC, turned off the monitor and turned it back on again, tried rebooting the PC as well.
I tried different Display port 1.2 cables an dports on my GPU, I tried using different custom resolutions or refresh rates. Nothing worked. The GPU I'm using is a R9 380X with the latest drivers.

Re: ATTN: Zowie XL2735 owners: [Test FreeSync 'Hack']

PostPosted: 16 May 2018, 05:53
by Falkentyne
Thank you. Someone mentioned the freesync ID is probably in the displayport spec hardware in the monitor itself.
It would probably 100% work with the "freesync over HDMI" hack however, but you have to look up those posts written here and on guru3d forums. The scaler 100% supports freesync so its almost a slam dunk that it would work.

Re: ATTN: Zowie XL2735 owners: [Test FreeSync 'Hack']

PostPosted: 16 May 2018, 08:53
by peanutvoid
I'll definitely be sure to look into it when I find the time, thank you!