Monitor recommendation

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!
EmojilessPsykopat

Monitor recommendation

Post by EmojilessPsykopat » 03 Jan 2018, 06:40

Hello,

a bunch of questions for the monitor recommendation, please bear with me : )

I have an old Samsung SyncMaster 27" 60hz 1080p that I want to change. Apparently I am fps sensitive because I very clearly see the 60fps movement stutter. Sadly I live in a small eastern European country and nobody that I know and no shop has a high hz monitor on display to compare for myself.

The effect I'm hoping for is to get a completely clear movement - in fps games it has to be same clarity when moving camera compared to non moving image. The question is 1) if 144hz is enough or should I shoot for 120hz+ulmb? 2) Is ULMB something that is geared to the complete pro gamer only? I'm not so much into having the slight gaming advantage as into not being annoyed by unnatural movement. 3) I generally play in a dark room, would ULMB make the colors look significantly worse?

The monitor should be GSync UW IPS panel, though AFAIK there are only a couple of these in the market. 4) Are there any upcoming good ones that I should wait for?

Also Im not sure about resolution - I am slightly annoyed by my 27" even when I crank up AA to the max, so I'm hoping the UW to be 1440p and for FPS games balance graphics out and sometimes even reduce the resolution to 1080p - is that a good idea? 5) I mean does 1080p rez on 1440p display look worse compared to 1080p rez on 1080p display on same size monitor (35")?

open

Re: Monitor recommendation

Post by open » 03 Jan 2018, 10:25