Request of advice and info to buy a new monitor.

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!
rasmas

Request of advice and info to buy a new monitor.

Post by rasmas » 04 Jan 2018, 11:21

Hello all,
I'm new here and as a good noob i come to ask advice and info :P .

TL;DR: All monitors you tests and recommend are +100Hz, TN panel (or 1440p IPSs), PC specs good enough to keep costant framerate,... Are there alternatives with lower Hz, that have a good-great blur reduction technology? Are they worthy or i should i forget about these and just focus on +100Hz and costant high framerate?
If they can be worthy, could you recommend me a few (or all you can remember) to start looking for info?

(Long text ahead!! :P)
First:
I have "always" had eye strain (sometimes leads to motion sickness*); i think i didn't have it when i was a child so i assumed my eyes-brain changed as i grew up.
*=Unsure if 100% related because when child i think i had motion sickness with an old game called XIII and i think i had a CRT.
Recently my LG W2261V died (TFT TN), and since then i have been using a CRT monitor (Mitsubishi Diamond Plus 73) where i am able to notice the flickering and has awful colours (=not too good :P ). I bought a new one (HP 24w- IPS to test if colours were the problem of eye strain) and inmediately i realized how blurry it was on games, i could see nothing clear. I used your "photo moving" test on both and i clearly saw the problem. Even with that I was able to get used to it by "not really focusing" in what were happening (as i did before).

Because of that i think a not blurry screen could help me to have less eye strain and maybe never have motion sickness again.

Second: