please help me understand some things about 240Hz and G-Sync

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!
chocobo

please help me understand some things about 240Hz and G-Sync

Post by chocobo » 20 May 2018, 00:03

I'm relatively new to the world of using a quality monitor for gaming, I discovered 144Hz in January but got a subpar HP Omen monitor and was still looking for a better option... recently I caught the Alienware AW2518HF on sale and I'm pretty happy with it. But I'm still trying to better understand the advantages of certain monitor features and could use some help. BTW I play games like CSGO and Fortnite on low-mid settings on a GTX 1060 in order to get high framerates, especially now that I have a monitor that can display more than 144 per second.

1) If I set my monitor to 144Hz and in-game framerate limit to 144 FPS, and keep my settings low enough to maintain a constant 144, will I have no screen tearing at all and will it function the same as if I had G-Sync?

2) When I have the monitor on 144Hz and the game is in the 200-240 FPS range, I see a little bit of screen tearing. At 60Hz, there's plenty of screen tearing because 60Hz is terrible. But at 240Hz, the screen tearing is virtually undetectable unless I'm looking closely and trying hard to find some.

Am I correct that higher refresh rates make G-Sync less important? I was wondering if maybe I made the wrong choice buying this monitor instead of a 144Hz G-Sync monitor that was on sale. But at 240Hz it seems like the tears are smaller, and of course they're visible for a much shorter time, so the result is that it seems (to me) like adaptive sync would be only a very tiny benefit. Am I understanding this right?