Going crazy with strobe and adaptive sync

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!
jasoncd

Going crazy with strobe and adaptive sync

Post by jasoncd » 19 Jun 2018, 08:54

I've spent the past week reading and searching here, and it's been a great help! Sometimes I feel like the more I read, the more questions I have though, and thus we have this long winded post, ha!

I've been using an XB270HU since 2015. I was never totally satisfied with it, mostly I think the motion clarity wasn't quite there. Things would get a bit confused during high speed / movement scenes. I play mostly FPS, but no competitive titles like CS:GO or Overwatch. More like Far Cry, Doom, Ghost Recon, etc.

Cue today, I’ve got a new AMD system. 2700x and Vega 64. I’m looking to make a change in monitor now too. Before finding this site, I was thinking about an XG32VQ. I’ve been using 1440p for a long time, and it’s a great resolution for desktop use. After reading here though, I think the VA panel may not be a good choice for me due to smearing concerns. I decided to order the XG2530 because I was set on adaptive sync, but now I’m having second thoughts after reading reviews on some Benq models and seeing the UFO test screenshots, I’m very interested in strobing.

Below is my short list, and would love some input on my thought process, your thoughts, feedback, anything! I think with any choice I make, I’d probably add a cheap smaller IPS/VA as a second monitor to help with desktop use.