144/240Hz Monitor Dilemma

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!
Cassie`

144/240Hz Monitor Dilemma

Post by Cassie` » 05 Dec 2018, 11:55

Hi all,

I've been a short time lurker here at BlurBusters and love the amount of information available regarding high specced monitors. I've scoured the forums in search for a monitor particular to my needs but I'm not settled on one without doubt/concerns. I currently have a Dell E193FP monitor that I've been using since 2005. It's a 75Hz 19" monitor with a 1280*1024 max resolution. (Yes primitive hardware compared to todays standards!)

I primarily play fast paced FPS games such as Unreal Tournament (1999), UT4, some Fortnite and some casual EVE Online from time to time. Some games I drop the settings to achieve high frame rates. An observation I've come to know is less tearing on Unreal Tournament with 180FPS @ 75Hz than 75FPS @ 75Hz. Not sure how that works yet.

I've been searching for either a 144Hz or 240Hz monitor to replace my ageing Dell. In terms of priority, it's as follows:

1) Low Input Lag/Delay
2) Low/minimal Motion Blur
3) Either a Freesync/Adaptive or NO SYNC monitor as I do not want to pay an extreme premium for GSYNC especially while I'm only using AMD cards.
4) 1080P is good enough however 1440p I'm willing to consider.
5) 23/24" panel is fine. Any higher then I'd expect a 1440p panel to avoid a grainy looking screen.

I live in the UK so my budget is somewhere around £350. I'm willing to stretch this to some degree given that the quality of panel i.e. low input lag and motion blur exceeds my expectations for what I'm willing to pay for.