Blur Busters Forums

Who you gonna call? The Blur Busters! For Everything Better Than 60Hz™ Skip to content

Apex legends dynamic vsync

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!

Apex legends dynamic vsync

Postby wirerat » 12 Feb 2019, 06:47

I Been playing this on a acer xf250q 240hz. The only way to remove 144fps cap is to set the vsync in game option to dynamic. I am running gsync enabled + vsync enabled in nvcp. My framerate is running average of 180 with some dips here and there to 160. I only can tell this setting turns on vsync in the menus.

I am not certain how this in game dynamic vsync works. Would I be better off just going back to in game vsync off 144fps cap + gsync/vsync enabled nvcp? Both scenerios look smooth and feel responsive. I just prefer the uncapped fps.
wirerat
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 11 Feb 2019, 11:32

Re: Apex legends dynamic vsync

Postby Notty_PT » 12 Feb 2019, 10:43

For Apex Legends, you defo want the internal cap to do its thing. i tried 240hz with this game and I had an awful experience because not even an i9 9900k 5ghz can sustain 200-240fps on this engine. The game was intended for 144hz gameplay, and not 240hz.
Notty_PT
 
Posts: 191
Joined: 09 Aug 2017, 02:50

Re: Apex legends dynamic vsync

Postby i fast reaction » Yesterday, 03:00

it's not a cpu bottleneck, it's a gpu bottleneck that occurs due to how certain parts of the map were made. the engine is fine above 240fps, its source.


you can play with no fps cap and vsync disabled by adding the launch option "+fps_max 0". you can only remove the cap entirely or set a cap lower than 144. nothing in between will work.


you will likely find playing at 144fps locked to be more responsive in many areas than unlimited when your framerate falls under around ?288? as the gpu being fully saturated will cause you to start filling the pre-rendered frame buffer.


at this time only a 2080ti with high clocks playing at 720p on minimum settings will consistently hold 240fps but you may find in some places you dip slightly under.
i fast reaction
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 03:27

Re: Apex legends dynamic vsync

Postby Notty_PT » Yesterday, 11:08

i fast reaction wrote:it's not a cpu bottleneck, it's a gpu bottleneck that occurs due to how certain parts of the map were made. the engine is fine above 240fps, its source.


you can play with no fps cap and vsync disabled by adding the launch option "+fps_max 0". you can only remove the cap entirely or set a cap lower than 144. nothing in between will work.


you will likely find playing at 144fps locked to be more responsive in many areas than unlimited when your framerate falls under around ?288? as the gpu being fully saturated will cause you to start filling the pre-rendered frame buffer.


at this time only a 2080ti with high clocks playing at 720p on minimum settings will consistently hold 240fps but you may find in some places you dip slightly under.


I excluded any GPU bottleneck by creating custom resolution and using Lod Bias, so my GPU usage was around 40% at the worst! And the CPU couldn´t still handle the 240fps, no matter what. In some areas it will go to 300fps easily, in other areas It always drops to 140-150 no matter what. All that inconsistent framerate only hurts aiming, big time. Having dips from 240 to 140 is atrocious for muscle memory, I would rather cap it. The engine isn´t clearly optimized for 240hz, because devs didn´t bother to tweak the stability above 144, it floats for no reason at all, even by just looking at the sky.

Exactly what happens on Battlefield V too, wich was designed and tweaked up to 200fps only (the maximum framerate cap by default), and Black Ops 4 aswell, wich suffers from the same problem as Apex, floaty framerate.

If you lock framerate to 138fps on 144hz monitor + Gsync/Freesync on these modern games, you have a better experience than with uncapped + 240hz
Notty_PT
 
Posts: 191
Joined: 09 Aug 2017, 02:50

Re: Apex legends dynamic vsync

Postby i fast reaction » Today, 03:00

Notty_PT wrote:in other areas It always drops to 140-150 no matter what.

Having dips from 240 to 140 is atrocious for muscle memory, I would rather cap it.


what speed+timings are you running on your ram? just wondering
i fast reaction
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 03:27

Re: Apex legends dynamic vsync

Postby Notty_PT » Today, 10:51

i fast reaction wrote:
Notty_PT wrote:in other areas It always drops to 140-150 no matter what.

Having dips from 240 to 140 is atrocious for muscle memory, I would rather cap it.


what speed+timings are you running on your ram? just wondering


3600mhz CL 15-16-16-31, Samsung B Die ones, they also make 4000mhz CL18 but it has worse performance than 3600 CL15

i7 9700k @ 5,1ghz (tested with 9900k too)

Is not a CPU bottleneck my friend. Is just the engine. And happens on other modern games too, devs do not optimize games for 240hz.

I read few days ago that things will get even worse soon, because new consoles will have a Ryzen Zen2 8 core cpu clocked at 3ghz. This will make devs use more AI and physics, so engines will be even more demanding on next gen. Consoles will support up to 120hz and I doubt we will be able to max out 240hz on most future games.
Notty_PT
 
Posts: 191
Joined: 09 Aug 2017, 02:50


Return to General — Displays, Graphics & More

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Tvorec2801 and 11 guests