Wait for G-SYNC? Buy ASUS? Buy BENQ?

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!
TwentyFoe

Wait for G-SYNC? Buy ASUS? Buy BENQ?

Post by TwentyFoe » 01 Apr 2014, 16:04

First of all hello guys

I'm fairly new to this entire thing. Until a few days ago I was literally sure that "gaming monitors" and 120HZ+ monitors are nothing more than a stupid gimmick (don't shoot me). I was putting up PC components together at a site, for my upcoming new PC build, and I was intrigued to check nowadays monitor prices. I saw many people recommending the DELL monitors (IPS, AH-IPS panels etc), and as I was watching YouTube video reviews, I was awed by the quality of the picture and angles, because it is indeed important to me (back then in late 2008 I bought Samsung's 971P for its accurate colors due to its graphic panel (I used to have an ugly-ass monitor that would change colors upon shifting and make my Photoshop works seem different to everyone). Seeing how I was shocked to see how cheap the DELL monitors were (while excellent), I made a little research and settled on a model to purchase a day later, and it was then when I found out about these 120HZ+ monitors (articles, reviews, examples and what not) and realized that this is the way to go.

I'd narrowed it down to either the BENQ XL2420T or ASUS VG248QE, and after seeing how cheaper the ASUS is compared to the BENQ, I had decided to go for it. and I then found out about the G-SYNC new technology. and again - hours of research, reading, etc etc, and I realized that sadly, it isn't something to be taken lightly, and I should have it, seeing how you don't upgrade a monitor that often (in fact, you upgrade it less frequently than you would your PC)