Question about LCD monitors

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!
Mark Fable

Question about LCD monitors

Post by Mark Fable » 29 Jul 2021, 16:11

Hello, I'm new to this forum and I have a question. Are all LCD monitors "sample-and-hold" by default design, or are there LCD monitors behaving differently? I'm asking this because I want to ensure that my laptop's LCD display is not, by any chance, acting against the norm.

I am also asking this because my laptop sports a 120Hz display and I plan to run some (more demanding) games at 60 fps (VSynced) while maintaining the same cadence and smoothness I would get if the display were 60Hz instead.

Looking forward to your help!

Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin

Re: Question about LCD monitors

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 29 Jul 2021, 23:48

Mark Fable wrote:
29 Jul 2021, 16:11
Hello, I'm new to this forum and I have a question. Are all LCD monitors "sample-and-hold" by default design
Most of them are, though Blur Busters has also been classically been about strobe backlights as a form of display motion blur reduction.

Such systems turn sample-and-hold LCDs into impulsed LCDs. But the panel itself is always permanently sample-and-hold, with the impulse driving provided by stack-on measures such as backlight and/or blank refresh cycles (black frame insertion)

There are no strobed laptops (at the moment), so these are predominantly sample-and-hold by design.

60fps at 120Hz looks like 60fps at 60Hz. But because of those fine-granularity VSYNC events, 60fps can stutter a bit more unless you intentionally adjust settings (e.g. use graphics driver 1/2 VSYNC, or switch refresh rate downwards to 60 Hz via control panel).