Is blue light filter a gimmick?

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!
PixelDuck87

Is blue light filter a gimmick?

Post by PixelDuck87 » 08 Oct 2021, 13:34

Do you guys think it does anything for your eye health? After googling some recent studies there seems to be no proof that blue light is causing us any harm. I've been using blue light filters for the past 8 years on my monitors. Now I'm so used to the yellow tint on my screens that without it the colors look weird to me. Maybe it's time to stop sacrificing color accuracy for a "gimmick" or what is your guys opinion on this?

jorimt

Re: Is blue light filter a gimmick?

Post by jorimt » 08 Oct 2021, 14:20

PixelDuck87 wrote:
08 Oct 2021, 13:34
Do you guys think it does anything for your eye health? After googling some recent studies there seems to be no proof that blue light is causing us any harm. I've been using blue light filters for the past 8 years on my monitors. Now I'm so used to the yellow tint on my screens that without it the colors look weird to me. Maybe it's time to stop sacrificing color accuracy for a "gimmick" or what is your guys opinion on this?
There's no more harm in blue light coming from our devices than when standing out in the sunlight (which is the most common source of blue light), much less, in fact. At worst, it will create eye strain after prolonged periods like staring at anything for too long, nothing more (let alone create permanent damage).

That said, what blue light does is suppress melatonin levels, which is what helps us start to feel sleepy (and thus helps us fall asleep) during nighttime hours (aka when the sun isn't out). This is where blue light filters can help; you can use them at night to prevent your screen from prolonging your wakefulness, but that's about it.
(jorimt: /jor-uhm-tee/)