Using a reshade black frame insertion shader fx?

Talk to software developers and aspiring geeks. Programming tips. Improve motion fluidity. Reduce input lag. Come Present() yourself!
User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
Posts: 11944
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44
Location: Toronto / Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Using a reshade black frame insertion shader fx?

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 31 Dec 2024, 19:10

prokinkd wrote:
02 Dec 2024, 14:01
Sure, glad to help. What exactly isn't working with fullscreen exclusive games? Both desktopbfi and shader utilites should work.
DesktopBFI doesn't work in FSE. If you think so, you're actually really running in borderless windowed mode or a FSE-emulation mode.

It's possible to intercept FSE API calls (whether by driver or utility) and turn them into borderless windowed, while the application still think it's running in FSE. In that mode, DesktopBFI would work, but Windows is not actually running it in a native FSE mode.
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on: BlueSky | Twitter | Facebook

Image
Forum Rules wrote:  1. Rule #1: Be Nice. This is published forum rule #1. Even To Newbies & People You Disagree With!
  2. Please report rule violations If you see a post that violates forum rules, then report the post.
  3. ALWAYS respect indie testers here. See how indies are bootstrapping Blur Busters research!

User avatar
RealNC
Site Admin
Posts: 4228
Joined: 24 Dec 2013, 18:32
Contact:

Re: Using a reshade black frame insertion shader fx?

Post by RealNC » 31 Dec 2024, 20:53

Chief Blur Buster wrote:
31 Dec 2024, 19:10
It's possible to intercept FSE API calls (whether by driver or utility) and turn them into borderless windowed, while the application still think it's running in FSE. In that mode, DesktopBFI would work, but Windows is not actually running it in a native FSE mode.
SpecialK can do that with its "fake fullscreen mode" option. It is quite compatible, but some games refuse to run with that.

(It will also promote the game's frame presentation mode to use a direct flip model, making windowed mode not suffer any performance or latency penalties compared to exclusive fullscreen.)
SteamGitHubStack Overflow
The views and opinions expressed in my posts are my own and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Blur Busters.

User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
Posts: 11944
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44
Location: Toronto / Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Using a reshade black frame insertion shader fx?

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 01 Jan 2025, 17:12

I hope SpecialK or Reshade manages to architecture itself to support subframe processors that I've been talking about for years. Earlier was multi-refresh BFI, now today it's CRT simulator that I released at www.blurbusters.com/crt -- and tomorrow it'll be stuff like Plasma TV Simulator / Adjustable LCD GtG on OLED / High Quality LCD Overdrive Algorithms / etc.

I don't do the driver programming, I do the algorithms, please help Blur Busters by getting the ecosystem ready for subrefresh processors (including removal of native:simulated ratios, I can do CRT-VRR in the future too). Simulated VRR + Simulated CRT like a software based GSYNC Pulsar, to any fixed-Hz OLED.[/]

Code: Select all

Select Simulated Display:   [CRT | Plasma | Slow LCD | Fast LCD | DLP | 35mm Projector | Others...]
Adjust Simulted Settings    [Phosphor Speed Settings>> | GtG Speed Settings>> | Subfield Dither Settings >>]
Select Simulated Hz:        24Hz [||||||||||||||-----------------------------------------------] 1000Hz
Enable Simulated VRR:       [Off | On]
Given enough brute Hz, and access to linear colorspace, and a beautifully generic unspent-photons Talbot Plateau energy buffer approach, this becomes possible.

When I turn off the generic crappy chinese LCD GtG algorithms (obsolete 17x17 OD LUTs, ugh), and enable a superior LCD GtG overdrive in a GPU shader, it suddenly becomes almost as good as a GSYNC monitor's overdrive! I'll eventually opensource this within a year or two. But it can only happen on the first refresh cycle after a new frame (regardless of content framerate).

Yeah, that inhouse experiment works but is not VRR compatible, but at least I can beat a cheap monitor's overdrive, that you simply turn off the montior overdrive, and use my shader overdrive instead. Might rob some % of your GPU and lower frame rates, but motion purists won't care during 60fps-locked material and/or movie playback and/or things like just browser / desktop scrolling (where bad LCD overdrive can turn into muddy mess).

Don't worry (to NVIDIA employees -- I know you all love me) -- NVIDIA is still far ahead (gamma-corrected overdrive during VRR and strobing? Oh, that's Ph.D graduate math; I'll focus on easier stuff like plasma subfields and VRR-CRT. Yes, making my own software-based GSYNC Pulsar is easier than VRR LCD overdrive)

Yep. Thanks to generic brute Hz + shaders. Plasma algorithms formerly in FPGA/firmware can now be done in shader on OLEDs too, and I can slow down OLED GtG optionally for 24fps Netflix to look better.

Make it happen, you software developers, you operating system developers, you driver developers.

Get ready for my temporal filters that gradually comes out one by one over 2025-2030s!

Refresh Cycle Shaders Please -- full stop -- Independent of content framerate.

Not just addressing anyone in particular (RealNC can spread the gospel around the channels like Discord). The software ecosystem is falling behind what is confirmed possible in the lab.

Even box-in-middles such as Retrotink is beginning to port my algorithms (the CRT simulator is coming to Retrotink 4K, the Pro edition, not the CE edition).

The Open Source Display Revolution beckons: BYOA (Bring Your Own Algorithm). I've mostly given up trying to sell to stubborn display makers who cheap out and don't implement my Blur Busters Approved stringent rules. My revenues are coming from contracts (TestUFO & Tester related) as spinoffs anyway.
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on: BlueSky | Twitter | Facebook

Image
Forum Rules wrote:  1. Rule #1: Be Nice. This is published forum rule #1. Even To Newbies & People You Disagree With!
  2. Please report rule violations If you see a post that violates forum rules, then report the post.
  3. ALWAYS respect indie testers here. See how indies are bootstrapping Blur Busters research!

User avatar
RealNC
Site Admin
Posts: 4228
Joined: 24 Dec 2013, 18:32
Contact:

Re: Using a reshade black frame insertion shader fx?

Post by RealNC » 01 Jan 2025, 20:10

Chief Blur Buster wrote:
01 Jan 2025, 17:12
I hope SpecialK or Reshade manages to architecture itself to support subframe processors that I've been talking about for years.
Right now it's in Microsoft's hands. The initial release of composition swapchains does not work with DX12. SpecialK's dev said the only thing he's waiting on is DX12 support. When MS releases that, he can work on actually good BFI support in SK, rather than the current implementation that flickers with every minor frame time spike.
SteamGitHubStack Overflow
The views and opinions expressed in my posts are my own and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Blur Busters.

User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
Posts: 11944
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44
Location: Toronto / Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Using a reshade black frame insertion shader fx?

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 02 Jan 2025, 15:08

RealNC wrote:
01 Jan 2025, 20:10
Chief Blur Buster wrote:
01 Jan 2025, 17:12
I hope SpecialK or Reshade manages to architecture itself to support subframe processors that I've been talking about for years.
Right now it's in Microsoft's hands. The initial release of composition swapchains does not work with DX12. SpecialK's dev said the only thing he's waiting on is DX12 support. When MS releases that, he can work on actually good BFI support in SK, rather than the current implementation that flickers with every minor frame time spike.
Linux it is, if need be.

I am talking to Valve. I have a response.

They believe they can update SteamOS's existing hook to do it regardless of whether content is static.

If CRT simulator comes to SteamOS, thank me.
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on: BlueSky | Twitter | Facebook

Image
Forum Rules wrote:  1. Rule #1: Be Nice. This is published forum rule #1. Even To Newbies & People You Disagree With!
  2. Please report rule violations If you see a post that violates forum rules, then report the post.
  3. ALWAYS respect indie testers here. See how indies are bootstrapping Blur Busters research!

joris-truly
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Jan 2025, 17:09

Re: Using a reshade black frame insertion shader fx?

Post by joris-truly » 19 Jan 2025, 17:17

Quick question – not sure if this is the right thread.

I've been using the DesktopBFI tool to test BFI and have had a great experience with it. I discovered the temporary burn-in but learned it goes away, so that's fine.

BUT, after choosing not to use BFI as the standard for playing games, all of a sudden, my display is experiencing severe VRR flicker, and I'm not sure how to fix it.

I did a clean DDU driver uninstall and reset my monitor to factory settings, but the VRR flicker is still persistent. The monitor is an AOC GAMING Q27G4XF, which I recently got, and I'm thinking of RMA'ing it. Not sure what's causing this, but I'm admittedly a bit more hesitant to ever try BFI on a possible new monitor because of this experience.

Thanks in advance for your input! :)

Post Reply