Seeking clarification on OLED / BFI...some beginner questions

High Hz on OLED produce excellent strobeless motion blur reduction with fast GtG pixel response. It is easier to tell apart 60Hz vs 120Hz vs 240Hz on OLED than LCD, and more visible to mainstream. Includes WOLED and QD-OLED displays.
O-T-T

Seeking clarification on OLED / BFI...some beginner questions

Post by O-T-T » 15 Jan 2024, 05:24

Hi everyone!

With the announcement of a lot of new models for 2024 I think the time has come for me too to get on the OLED hype train.
I have some questions that I would like to bring to the attention of the expert members of this forum, both to help me choose the right model for my needs and to clarify some doubts regarding motion blur reduction: probably many of these are silly questions since I'm a newbie...so please be patient. Simple and direct answers are fine, even a YES/NO in many cases should be sufficient :D

Premise:

I would like to use the monitor mainly for retrogaming, especially for emulation with RetroArch
I would like to use BFI but from what I have read it seems that the models with Samsung QD-OLED panel will not have this feature, while at the moment among those equipped with LG's WOLED panel only Asus seems to have implemented BFI but with fixed refresh at 120hz...which if I understand correctly is practically useless for retrogaming and in any case it would not fully exploit the potential of the monitor :roll: