graphic designer dealing with screen induced nausea/dizziess

There are over 100 ergonomic issues from displays, far more than just flicker and blue light. This forum covers the giant variety of display ergonomics issues.
justpaintoverit

graphic designer dealing with screen induced nausea/dizziess

Post by justpaintoverit » 24 Dec 2023, 21:59

Hey all, I'm a graphic designer struggling really badly with screen induced motion sickness and migraines, and I'm hoping someone here might have some idea of what could be going on, or advise me. This seriously impacts my ability to work, and has been going on for almost three months now. I'm pretty freaked out by the whole thing, and I'm really desperate for advice or a solution. I will throw whatever amount of money necessary at a monitor I can use that won't make me sick and will allow me to get back to work.

The computer I was previously using was a 15 inch 2016 MacBook Pro. I could use this computer for 10 hours straight no problem on full brightness in light mode without even the slightest hint of dizziness, but it's old and too slow now to actually be usable as a work computer. I bought a 14 inch M1 Max MacBook Pro and noticed it was triggering a feeling of intense motion sickness as well as sometimes triggering a migraine without motion sickness, or triggering both. I thought maybe it was the switch from 15 inches to 14 inches, so I returned the 14 inch and got the 16 inch M1 Max and had the same issue. I saw some people suggest the issue with the newer Macbook Pros was the PWM and that the M2 MacBook Air doesn't use PWM, but that also caused the same issue for me (thought the air was fine hooked up to a Samsung AM702 32" monitor my friend let me borrow). When the M3 MacBook Pro came out I tried that one (16 inch M3 Max) as well hoping the screen might be better, but I've had the same issue. (I was in the return window for all the computers)