Blur Busters Forums

Who you gonna call? The Blur Busters! For Everything Better Than 60Hz™ Skip to content

Make Stroberlight work at 144Hz

Ask about motion blur reduction in gaming monitors. Includes ULMB (Ultra Low Motion Blur), NVIDIA LightBoost, ASUS ELMB, BenQ/Zowie DyAc, Turbo240, ToastyX Strobelight, etc.

Make Stroberlight work at 144Hz

Postby BTRY B 529th FA BN » 04 Dec 2016, 11:38

Why hasn't the utility been updated to strobe at 144Hz?
BTRY B 529th FA BN
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 18 Dec 2013, 13:28

Re: Make Stroberlight work at 144Hz

Postby Falkentyne » 04 Dec 2016, 13:40

Because the monitor wont strobe at 144hz.
Falkentyne
 
Posts: 2366
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

Re: Make Stroberlight work at 144Hz

Postby Chief Blur Buster » 04 Dec 2016, 23:16

Most 120Hz LightBoost monitors have no ability to strobe at 144Hz.
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter!
User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3673
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44

Re: Make Stroberlight work at 144Hz

Postby BTRY B 529th FA BN » 04 Dec 2016, 23:23

Chief Blur Buster wrote:Most 120Hz LightBoost monitors have no ability to strobe at 144Hz.


So for the Asus VG248QE it's possible?
BTRY B 529th FA BN
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 18 Dec 2013, 13:28

Re: Make Stroberlight work at 144Hz

Postby Falkentyne » 05 Dec 2016, 01:05

No. If you want strobing at 144hz, without excessive amounts of strobe crosstalk, you will need to buy a Samsung C24FG70. But you need to wait to get one with the purple tint issue fixed, as the only ones fixed would be manufactured at the end of October through November. These monitors can strobe at 144hz with zero crosstalk.

The Benq XL2720Z and Benq (Zowie) XL2735 can also strobe at 144hz, but crosstalk will be unacceptably high, with no way to reduce the crosstalk at this refresh rate. At 120hz, you can reduce the strobe crosstalk by making a custom resolution with a vertical total value of 1500 on the XL2720Z (and XL2411Z, XL2420Z and XL2430T), and a vertical total of 1825 on the 1440p XL2735.
Falkentyne
 
Posts: 2366
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

Re: Make Stroberlight work at 144Hz

Postby knypol » 05 Dec 2016, 15:24

Falkentyne wrote:...If you want strobing at 144hz, without excessive amounts of strobe crosstalk, you will need to buy a Samsung C24FG70...These monitors can strobe at 144hz with zero crosstalk.


Hey, I'm interested in this new Samsung model but I can't find any proper test of it. Have You seen this monitor in aciton that U r saying there is almost no crosstalk in strobe mode? I mean no crosstalk all over the screen (top, midle, bottom is similar)? I'd like to see ufo test screen of this monitor but unfortunatelly not yet avaiable. If there is really no crosstalk this is by far win win monitor for everyone. Nice angles, 144hz, 1ms and perfect crosstalk? Can't be a true.
knypol
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 18 Aug 2016, 03:40

Re: Make Stroberlight work at 144Hz

Postby Falkentyne » 05 Dec 2016, 16:14

Yes, this monitor has already been tested, along with pictures. There is no crosstalk at all. Someone posted a 144hz picture over on overclock.net.

BTW this is not the only monitor with NO crosstalk. The Eizo Foris FG2421 also has NO crosstalk whatsoever. What is common in both of these monitors? They are both VA Panels.
Since VA panels have slower transitions, most likely the vertical blanking is given a much larger delay to avoid crosstalk issues. This also explains why the FG2421 has around 20ms of input lag in strobe mode (this was tested on tftcentral).

Why don't I own this monitor? I was going to buy it on day 1. Because:

1) no 60hz single strobe--it double strobes. I refuse to buy a monitor that doesn't single strobe at 60hz. Why? I'm playing 60hz locked games with strobing, that's why.
2) purple color shift on dark transitions (This is/has been fixed in newest revisions, but there is almost no way to guarantee getting one unless your existing panel gets upgraded at a USA Samsung service center).

No it's not "1 ms". No monitor in existence is 1 ms. 1 ms can only be attained on CRT's and OLED's and there are other issues with OLED's (excessive input lag from signal processing). The 1 ms you see advertised is from STROBING---e.g. PIXEL FRAME PERSISTENCE. This is no different than using a "Strobe Duty" of 006 (or Intensity of 025-6=019 on an XL2430T) with a VT tweak of 1500 at 100hz or 120hz. This causes strobe pixel persistence motion blur of 1.0ms. This has NOTHING to do with input lag. Please don't confuse the two.
Falkentyne
 
Posts: 2366
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

Re: Make Stroberlight work at 144Hz

Postby knypol » 05 Dec 2016, 17:44

I just found videos with that purple tint issue...holy shit thats really bad, couldn't stand such defect. U say that they fixed it in newest versions?

I also found on overclock.net thread two ufo test screenshots.

This is rather bad
http://www.overclock.net/t/1605507/sams ... t_25636384

That looks very good
http://www.overclock.net/t/1605507/ligh ... id/2905986
knypol
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 18 Aug 2016, 03:40

Re: Make Stroberlight work at 144Hz

Postby Falkentyne » 05 Dec 2016, 18:02

Those pictures were not taken with "pursuit camera". If you take a picture with a stationary camera, every strobed monitor will look this bad. My Benq looks just like that if I don't do that.

Taking pictures with pursuit camera require you to move the camera at the exact same speed as the image on the screen. But that's hard to do without doing it many many times to take a picture. And it's frustrating to overshoot or undershoot, causing more double images like that. It only looks that "blurry" in person at 60hz refresh rate, when it actually double strobes.

Notice the bottom of the screen on the "Good" picture still looks like a double image? Where it says 144 hz?
Even a quad strobed monitor (4 frames) would look perfect on that image because that image doesn't move at all (Yes, the Eizo Foris FG2421 quad strobes at 60hz (two long and two short strobes).

The afterimages (Ghosting) can't be removed. That's just how it is. Funny however, the Eizo Foris FG2421 apparently had no ghosting whatsoever. But you paid for that in high input lag in strobed mode :( But that's not strobe crosstalk. There's no crosstalk at all in those pictures. Crosstalk is basically the blending of the next frame's pixel color transitions into the current frame.

There's some crosstalk pictures buried in the Benq section.

Actually here's one of my XL2720Z at 144hz with strobing. It's pretty clear where the crosstalk is. The very bottom of the screen (below the massive crosstalk) is actually the 2 behind the current frame, minus a few ms of response time lag. The rest of the screen (middle to top) is 1 frame BEHIND (most of the main screen, so +6.9ms + processing lag). To be exact, the very bottom of the screen is TWO frames behind, the middle to the top is 1 frame behind. If you change the strobe phase from 000 (which I used here) to 100, another crosstalk band would drop from the top downwards, with the part above the new crosstalk band basically the "current" frame (fastest input lag).

You can tell that the crosstalk "cuts off" the two frames.

Image
Falkentyne
 
Posts: 2366
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23


Return to Eliminating Motion Blur — LightBoost / ULMB / ELMB / DyAc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mello and 2 guests