So I Turned Off Lightboost...

Ask about motion blur reduction in gaming monitors. Includes ULMB (Ultra Low Motion Blur), NVIDIA LightBoost, ASUS ELMB, BenQ/Zowie DyAc, Turbo240, ToastyX Strobelight, etc.
Litzner

So I Turned Off Lightboost...

Post by Litzner » 06 Apr 2019, 10:00

I was getting annoyed at some of my games that do not support 100+FPS\Hz, like some that are 60fps capped, so I decided to turn off Lightboost for the first time in years (VG248QE). I was thinking maybe the improved input latency may give me a added advantage as well in the FPS games I play. First thing I noticed is my blacks were way blacker again, also the colors were SOOOO vivid, almost to the point where they were distracting, as I was used to Lightboost and they now looked over saturated (I calibrate my displayed with a ColorMunki and DisplayCal).

I started playing a FPS game I frequent, I definitely noticed that in fast motion things were not as clear, but it didn't feel like it was effecting me much at first. I typically almost 100% of the time perform the best in the game, which the guys I play with remind me of frequently by throwing shade my way. First thing I notice is that with Lightboost off I am having a much harder time getting 1st place, guys who hardly ever beat me are contending and making me work for it. I think maybe this is just me getting used to non-lightboost again, so I give it three days. For 3 days I feel like I am playing poorly, and sometimes even coming in 2nd or 3rd for back to back games, which is simply unheard for me, at least with the guys I play with. At this point they are talking so much shit...