Gaming at less than 100FPS

Ask about motion blur reduction in gaming monitors. Includes ULMB (Ultra Low Motion Blur), NVIDIA LightBoost, ASUS ELMB, BenQ/Zowie DyAc, Turbo240, ToastyX Strobelight, etc.
mylasthope

Gaming at less than 100FPS

Post by mylasthope » 02 May 2014, 20:18

Hey,

I just bought a new Asus VG248QE since I really need a monitor. I'm really hyped for g sync and lightboost, but I have a couple of questions. For games that I can't achieve 100 FPS, what HZ should I set the monitor to? When I'm emulating Wii games, I'm usually only able to get 30FPS. When playing games such as ACIV, I can only get 60 FPS. Should I just leave the monitor at 144hz in both these scenarios? Also, I noticed that my FPS bounces around in some games. Will this interfere with lightboost? For example, I was playing COD: Ghosts and my FPS was at 120 for the majority of the time, but it did fluctuate. Sorry for all of these questions. I'm really new to PC gaming.

Trip

Re: Gaming at less than 100FPS

Post by Trip » 03 May 2014, 06:53

In most cases with g-sync it is probably best to cap the engine to a framerate just below your 144hz refresh rate to avoid input latency. There are a lot of threads about this but it comes down to that the monitor has to wait for the game-engine instead of the other way around. So the monitor always gets the fresh frame. See it a bit like going to the market and waiting for the salesmen to fill up their stands you are in that case the monitor and will always get the fresh stuff. If you were going to the market while they clear up their stock you are sure the stuff is not as fresh anymore.