G-sync, Nvidia Reflex with Vulkan

Talk about NVIDIA G-SYNC, a variable refresh rate (VRR) technology. G-SYNC eliminates stutters, tearing, and reduces input lag. List of G-SYNC Monitors.
Diasho

G-sync, Nvidia Reflex with Vulkan

Post by Diasho » 30 Jul 2022, 05:40

In most of my games I am using the following setup so that the fps are in the g-sync range:
- V-sync in NVCP - On
- Monitor technology in NVCP - G-Sync compatible
- G-sync in NVCP - On, for fullscreen mode
- Preferred refresh rate in NVCP - highest available
- Nvidia reflex in-game - On (or on+boost)
- V-sync - off

As expected from nvidia reflex, it caps my fps slightly below max refresh rate, which is 138 fps for 144 hz monitor. Everything is fine

But recently I started playing Rainbow Six Siege, which doesn't have the nvidia reflex option for dx11. Instead - it has nvidia reflex for Vulkan
The issue is that for Vulkan, using the abovementioned settings, my FPS don't cap to 138, which should be automatically done by the nvidia reflex as it is in some other games like e.g. Apex Legends, Fortnite or Valorant

What should I do in this case? Why reflex doesn't cap the fps in Vulkan?
Should I just go play with LLM on ultra on the dx11 version instead? It actually caps fps to 138 in this case
But for the Vulkan version, only using the in-game FPS limiter makes it possible so that FPS don't go above 138.

My CPU and GPU are Ryzen 5 3600 and RTX 2070, so I believe using Vulkan is more beneficial.

jorimt

Re: G-sync, Nvidia Reflex with Vulkan

Post by jorimt » 30 Jul 2022, 08:37

Diasho wrote:
30 Jul 2022, 05:40
What should I do in this case? Why reflex doesn't cap the fps in Vulkan?
Should I just go play with LLM on ultra on the dx11 version instead? It actually caps fps to 138 in this case
But for the Vulkan version, only using the in-game FPS limiter makes it possible so that FPS don't go above 138.