Asus VG248QE and G-Sync kit

Talk about NVIDIA G-SYNC, a variable refresh rate (VRR) technology. G-SYNC eliminates stutters, tearing, and reduces input lag. List of G-SYNC Monitors.
Koldur

Asus VG248QE and G-Sync kit

Post by Koldur » 08 Jul 2014, 02:57

Hello all, I have been reading up on all of this tech the last few days and a lot of information is coming at you if you haven't kept up the last few years ;)
I think I understand most of it now, though I want to be sure before I go ahead and buy this kit. First of all, is it compatible with 220 V outlets? I am going to the USA on vacation soon and sending it to a friend of mine, but when it is 110 V only it is useless to me of course. I will receive the monitor itself today, so until now I have no real life experience with it.
Next question is about trace free, with G-Sync I have come to understand you cannot change its settings anymore? What is the default setting then? Can you still disable it all-together or is it on by default? And I am still a bit confused about trace free and ULMB/Lightboost, trace free is there to avoid blurring to happen, but ULMB/Lightboost does this as well? Can you use trace free and ULMB/Lightboost enabled at the same time? Last question, can you still use lightboost if you want with the G-Sync kit installed?

I will also be using NVIDIA 3D Vision as much as I can, if that is of any importance.

I hope I am not being a noob here, if so, my apologies.

EDIT:
Well, after having tested lightboost on normal desktop use I have decided not to use it, it really has color uniformity issues like the plague! I tried it at 120Hz and the top left corner of my screen gets all pinkish compared to the other parts of the screen with it enabled on the desktop. When disabled the screen looks normal again. It is unusable if you ask me as a desktop setting.

gzboli

Re: Asus VG248QE and G-Sync kit

Post by gzboli » 08 Jul 2014, 21:05