Framerate Cap, g/sync and brightness flickering (Odyssey G7)

Talk about NVIDIA G-SYNC, a variable refresh rate (VRR) technology. G-SYNC eliminates stutters, tearing, and reduces input lag. List of G-SYNC Monitors.
PedroPortnoy

Framerate Cap, g/sync and brightness flickering (Odyssey G7)

Post by PedroPortnoy » 23 Apr 2021, 11:27

Hello, everyone!

First of all I'd like to thank all the members of this forum for all the tips I'v been able to take advantage of in the past.

I've recently purchased a Samsung Odyssey G7 27'' monitor and have been playing mostly Assassin's Creed Unity whithout noticing any of the famous brightness flickering associated with this monitor. I recently started playing another game (AC Chronicles: China) and started noting some severe flickering in the intro animations, and very faint flickering during gameplay.

After that I went back to AC Unity to search for it and actually noticed a tiny bit of flickering in some situations, but very hard to tell.

I've been playing AC Unity with NCP framerate cap set to 65 FPS (because some cosmetic physics are tied to Framerate in this game, like other AC games) with g-sync on and v-sync off, with no tearing and smooth gameplay, despite the eventual flickering.

I understand Brighness Flickering while using g-sync is due to monitors beiing brighter at higher refresh rates and that's why this monitor flickers a lot when the Framerate fluctuates around the lower limit of VRR range. Thanks to the information section on the OSD, i was able to confirm that the LFC was kicking in at anything lower than 90 FPS using nVidia Pendulum Demo and that, in fact, when going over and below that would cause visible flickering. Checking refresh rate during AC Unity gameplay confirmed it was around 130 Hz (2*65), but fluctuating from around 100 to 160 and it wouldńt go out of LFC.