Samsung LC27HG70 custom firmware

Advanced display talk, display hackers, advanced game programmers, scientists, display researchers, display manufacturers, vision researchers & Advanced Display Articles on Blur Busters. The masters on Blur Busters.
jojolapin102

Samsung LC27HG70 custom firmware

Post by jojolapin102 » 02 Jan 2019, 12:21

Hi everyone, I'm new to the blur busters forums so I don't know if I post this on the right place.

I bought myself a monitor ~3 months ago, the Samsung LC27HG70 with Freesync. I am really happy of the monitor, the colors are so good, the contrast is amazing and all that. But, there is a big big issue with this monitor, the way that Overdrive is managed. Effectively, it can't be disabled, and under 120 Hz, the monitor get horrible reverse ghosting and is simply unusable, so it goes without saying but freesync technology is unusable too. And even if at 144 Hz the reverse ghosting is low, it is there and in dark areas in games it is annoying.

The fact is that I'm student in electronic engineering and I tried to get some information on the internet to know what type of scaler is used in the monitor, what hardware, because I would like to mod the firmware and disable completely the Overdrive to use freesync. But I didn't find any information useful, Samsung is totally deaf, and I posted here because I saw that firmware on some BenQ monitors had been customized, so I am wondering if someone has ideas, skills, or something to help.

Thanks in advance to all the community !
(please excuse my english mistakes I'm french)

Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin

Re: Samsung LC27HG70 custom firmware

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 06 Jan 2019, 01:37

jojolapin102 wrote:Hi everyone, I'm new to the blur busters forums so I don't know if I post this on the right place.