BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Talk about overclocking displays at a higher refresh rate. This includes homebrew, 165Hz, QNIX, Catleap, Overlord Tempest, SEIKI displays, certain HDTVs, and other overclockable displays.
User avatar
hleV
Posts: 99
Joined: 27 May 2017, 10:31

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by hleV » 18 Nov 2020, 03:43

sauceman69 wrote:
17 Nov 2020, 18:40
I overclocked my benq XL411P without using any of the programs like oorfixer/buster.

So after struggling with most of the methods, nothing worked for me.
But then i tried changing the launch options on steam, to see if my monitor would go out of range if i changed the refresh rate as a launch option on CS:GO, and I tested it with small overclocks, then I tried 165 hz, worked fine no out of range or anything, then i tried 170 hz, worked just fine. But then I tried 240 hz and it works just fine too, full colour no overshoot or ghosting or any problems whatsoever.

But since i play the game on a low resolution, that might be why i have no problems getting it to 240 hz flawlessly.

I cant overclock my desktop, but the refreshrate only matters to me ingame anyways.

here are my launch options, see for yourself if it works for you too.

-refresh 240 -high -fullscreen -w 1024 -h 768
-refresh launch param won't have any effect if the refresh rate isn't available/manually created in Windows. You can use the command mat_info in console to see at what refresh rate you're playing.
BenQ XL2411Z

voidzito
Posts: 2
Joined: 20 Nov 2020, 20:05

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by voidzito » 20 Nov 2020, 20:14

Hi,

So humm. as i was looking for a 240hz monitor i stumbled upon this thread.
I have a xl2411z for years and didnt know this was possible.

I have tested as follows:
Installed the ToastyX Pixel Patcher (NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher, first google link when searching)
Downloaded OorBuster and run it as i dont have a 2 screen.
In NVCP created 2 customs red (1920*1080 @200hz and 1280*960 @200hz)

Now here comes troubles:
Even with pixel patcher cant go up than 200hz even for a single hz.
I only play cs and it's the only reason i want more hz, not for regular desktop usage.
1920*1080 @200hz works ok. i can see some weird white lines horizontaly.
1280*960 @200hz. runs but super bad with white lines and blurriness all over the place.

Image

Should i change something ?

Perfect for me would be 1280*960 @200hz or higher. which is res that cs uses (launch option to force it with refresh rate aswell so it doesnt pick regular 144hz one instead, that works ok).

voidzito
Posts: 2
Joined: 20 Nov 2020, 20:05

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by voidzito » 20 Nov 2020, 21:04

Tried to overclock my xl2411z.

On DVI, can achiev 200hz on 1920*1080 and 1280*960.

My interest in getting 1280*960 on highest rate i could. for now it's 200 but i get some tiny white horizontal lines all across the screen.
Not really dealbreaking but kinda annoying.

Cant get to make ToastyX Pixel Patcher (nvidia) to work, i install reboot and all ok. next reboot or coldstart and nvidia drivers wont load and im stuck on generic drive and 60hz.

Also if i create custom res on NVCP, 1920*1080 all good but the 1280*960 it's all messes up. On CRU works as i stated before.

Any help on pixel patcher making this happen, and how to get rid of the while lines ?

ZEFIR001
Posts: 2
Joined: 22 Nov 2020, 20:05

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by ZEFIR001 » 22 Nov 2020, 20:15

This is not overclicking. Its just "toys" it didnt work.
Im sucessfuly oc'ed my xl2411z with no issues. Get 210hz on DVI. Also noticed white pixel lines evere 3 pixels on my monitor.
Yeah its works,its 210hz but it works only on desktop,it did not work on games,because when you enter fullscreen game it gets ruined...
Allright,im used this small .exe programm made by someone which auto apply OC when resolution is changed,now i can enter game without Out of Range msg. BUT where is sense of it? Games still runs in 144hz fullscreen. 210hz posible only in borderless mode. No sense playing borderless,lower perfomance and more input lag. The game just did not see custom profile with 1920x1080 210hz but see 1786x978 144hz.
IDK WHY. Maybe im doing something wrong? Help will be appreciated. Because i see no sense of overclocking rn untill someone just release flash file or custom benq driver which completely unlock 200hz or 210hz refresh rates idk.

ZEFIR001
Posts: 2
Joined: 22 Nov 2020, 20:05

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by ZEFIR001 » 23 Nov 2020, 14:11

Fixed fullscreen issue by installing older drivers and dublicating same settings in CRU. Now i can choose 1920x1080 210hz full screen.

chumacher
Posts: 13
Joined: 10 Dec 2019, 22:23

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by chumacher » 23 Nov 2020, 18:08

Hi everyone.
Please read the whole thread to understand the discoveries that these amazing members of this community have been able to find out and share with you!
sometimes you need to make the custom resolutions to both CRU & nvidia control panel and use same timings and then these overclocks work ! please remember to reboot your PC! sometimes the using the restart64.exe in CRU folder is not enough..
for ME it works this way... I first make the custom resolution to CRU and then to nvidiaCP. (use same timings, for fullHD total pixels 1984 & 1094, as mentioned in the opening post)
this way im able to make almost any custom resolution up to 480mhz pixel clock is around 1920 x 1080 @ 219hz ~ 221hz (using displayport cable)
Maximum for me has been 250hz with 1600x1900 resolution.
For smaller resolutions like 1366x768 you can try to use the native timings that you can find using CRU. (this way 1024x768 works with BlackBars)

User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
Posts: 8333
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44
Location: Toronto / Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 24 Nov 2020, 16:38

chumacher wrote:
23 Nov 2020, 18:08

sometimes you need to make the custom resolutions to both CRU & nvidia control panel and use same timings and then these overclocks work ! please remember to reboot your PC! sometimes the using the restart64.exe in CRU folder is not enough..
ZEFIR001 wrote:
22 Nov 2020, 20:15
Im sucessfuly oc'ed my xl2411z with no issues. Get 210hz on DVI. Also noticed white pixel lines evere 3 pixels on my monitor.
My favourite trick that eliminates reboots and eliminates mode switches upon game launch, is 1920x1079 with only one refresh rate (the overclocked rate).

1. Switch to non overclocked resolution & refresh
2. exit NVCP
3. start ToastyX CRU
4. Find/Delete old resolution with overclocked rate if you’re modifying same resolution
5. Modify/Add new overclocked refresh rate (on its unique custom resolution), like 1920x1078 210Hz
6. do retart64.exe
7. Relaunch NVCP
8. switch resolution to the overclocked one.

You also can use different resolutions (x1077 x1078 x1079) for different overclocked rates. Make sure that resolution you create has only ONE refresh rate.

Set Windows AND game to the same overclocked-only resolution, and thereafter it will (usually) stay at that Hz more easily without the game switching refresh rates (and causing the overclock to get lost)
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter

       To support Blur Busters:
       • Official List of Best Gaming Monitors
       • List of G-SYNC Monitors
       • List of FreeSync Monitors
       • List of Ultrawide Monitors

Bombilakus
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Oct 2017, 04:27

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Bombilakus » Today, 19:00

Hey guys I wanna overclock my XL2420Z but Ive lost my s switch. I don't have second monitor here but Ive seen OORbuster utility. Ive downloaded and dont know how to create shortcut to exe when there is no exe file inside. I tried reading the files and this thread and havent found the way. Can someone compile zip with .exe file and upload to dropbox or something.
Please help this noob play at 200hz <3

Post Reply