Blur Busters Forums

Who you gonna call? The Blur Busters! For Everything Better Than 60Hz™ Skip to content

Weird nvcp bug when overclocking.

Talk about overclocking displays at a higher refresh rate. This includes homebrew, 165Hz, QNIX, Catleap, Overlord Tempest, SEIKI displays, certain HDTVs, and other overclockable displays.

Weird nvcp bug when overclocking.

Postby urut » 16 Mar 2016, 17:59

benq xl2411z overclockin with nvidia control panel, when i put some timing i can go overclock to 360 ++ ++ (even can go to 999999hz) but its nvidia bug i think, http://scr.hu/2ykh/nkjza <-- screen. (on testufo i've got 360fps 360hz also)

BUT

When i want to save this resolution it doesn't exist on custom resolutions tab, the max hz resolution to exist is 183hz. Can it be real 183? Or maybe its a trick to overclock benq monitors avoiding firmware lock?
urut
 
Posts: 102
Joined: 08 Aug 2014, 13:15

Re: Weird nvcp bug when overclocking.

Postby Q83Ia7ta » 17 Mar 2016, 01:53

May be your current nvidia driver have bug but I neved had bugs when overclocked at 200+ Hz but at 1080p
Can you send photo of http://testufo.com/#test=frameskipping at 183Hz?
Q83Ia7ta
 
Posts: 595
Joined: 18 Dec 2013, 09:29

Re: Weird nvcp bug when overclocking.

Postby lexlazootin » 17 Mar 2016, 01:58

Yea, it sounds like a nvidia bug, but 183hz~ is about the same overclock i got on my benq monitor.

Maybe try with Custom resolution utility but i doubt you'll be able to get any more of a overclock.
lexlazootin
 
Posts: 970
Joined: 16 Dec 2014, 02:57

Re: Weird nvcp bug when overclocking.

Postby urut » 17 Mar 2016, 06:46

Q83Ia7ta wrote:May be your current nvidia driver have bug but I neved had bugs when overclocked at 200+ Hz but at 1080p
Can you send photo of http://testufo.com/#test=frameskipping at 183Hz?


Now at 1920x1080 max overclockable value i've got is 179hz, but in monitor OSD it shows @60hz.

I haven't go camera, but its frameskipping :/ http://scr.hu/2ykh/7vp4f

But trust me, i've got frameskipping and i dunno its real 179hz or only the driver/testufo says that.

lexlazootin wrote:Yea, it sounds like a nvidia bug, but 183hz~ is about the same overclock i got on my benq monitor.

Maybe try with Custom resolution utility but i doubt you'll be able to get any more of a overclock.


You overclocked the benq monitor to real 183hz? If yes, can i know how? :D

And its weird, but it only work when i've got VT 1500 on timings, and THEN on 144hz+ i've got blackscreen with "FULL" displaymode, but when i change it to 19", 21,5" etc its working. (Or when i change instant mode to OFF).
Can i know your timings on 800x600 @ 195hz? (i read your post somewhere)

And even with CRU at LCD reduced timings when i put 800x600 @ 149hz i've got "Out of range" problem. Can you post your timings? :P

@EDIT

And wtf is going on, even 800x600@144hz with CRU timings lcd recuded didn't work. Out of range problem. What's goin on?
urut
 
Posts: 102
Joined: 08 Aug 2014, 13:15

Re: Weird nvcp bug when overclocking.

Postby Q83Ia7ta » 17 Mar 2016, 07:53

urut wrote:
Q83Ia7ta wrote:And wtf is going on, even 800x600@144hz with CRU timings lcd recuded didn't work. Out of range problem. What's goin on?
BenQ don't like what you trying to do with own monitor. BenQ want you to buy their 200Hz monitor in future :) In other words it's usual proceeding when monitor vendors block overclocking by firmware.
Q83Ia7ta
 
Posts: 595
Joined: 18 Dec 2013, 09:29

Re: Weird nvcp bug when overclocking.

Postby urut » 17 Mar 2016, 08:23

Q83Ia7ta wrote:
urut wrote:
Q83Ia7ta wrote:And wtf is going on, even 800x600@144hz with CRU timings lcd recuded didn't work. Out of range problem. What's goin on?
BenQ don't like what you trying to do with own monitor. BenQ want you to buy their 200Hz monitor in future :) In other words it's usual proceeding when monitor vendors block overclocking by firmware.


And it isn't possible to trick/avoid this block with easy way? :D
urut
 
Posts: 102
Joined: 08 Aug 2014, 13:15

Re: Weird nvcp bug when overclocking.

Postby lexlazootin » 17 Mar 2016, 09:25

urut wrote:And it isn't possible to trick/avoid this block with easy way? :D


Don't buy benq :D

I'm using a XL2420G (G-sync) displayport 800x600 and all i did was click reduced blanking and it worked.

https://i.imgur.com/yxyKjWG.png

https://i.imgur.com/5vd2xdf.png

But it has no scaling so the picture is really small and there is no 'Instant mode' with display port/g-sync but i would recommend leaving instant mode on and turn off scaling to get the best result.
lexlazootin
 
Posts: 970
Joined: 16 Dec 2014, 02:57

Re: Weird nvcp bug when overclocking.

Postby urut » 17 Mar 2016, 10:00

Ahh, my benq xl2411z haven't got display port :/ so on dvi dual link i cant go higher than 144hz i think :/
urut
 
Posts: 102
Joined: 08 Aug 2014, 13:15

Re: Weird nvcp bug when overclocking.

Postby urut » 17 Mar 2016, 19:32

Sorry for doublepost, but @lexlazootin can you send me your monitor edid? :D
To do this you need:
- Get Monitor Asset Manager – http://www.entechtaiwan.com/util/moninfo.shtm
- Install and Run the Monitor Asset Manager
- Click on the File menu and select "Create INF..."
- Name the file with your display model and upload it here.


Can you do this for me? Cuz i test some drivers etc. :D
urut
 
Posts: 102
Joined: 08 Aug 2014, 13:15

Re: Weird nvcp bug when overclocking.

Postby lexlazootin » 17 Mar 2016, 22:25

Yea sure mate, i'll do that when i get home.

I'll have to try with overclocking on the 'Classic' engine (DVI without G-Sync) because i think i remember having problems with it as well.
lexlazootin
 
Posts: 970
Joined: 16 Dec 2014, 02:57

Next

Return to Display Overclocking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest