Blur Busters Forums

Who you gonna call? The Blur Busters! For Everything Better Than 60Hz™ Skip to content

ASUS VG248QE @ 125hz & screen tearing multi-monitor [SOLVED]

Talk about overclocking displays at a higher refresh rate. This includes homebrew, 165Hz, QNIX, Catleap, Overlord Tempest, SEIKI displays, certain HDTVs, and other overclockable displays.

ASUS VG248QE @ 125hz & screen tearing multi-monitor [SOLVED]

Postby xyntron » 21 Mar 2019, 10:41

Hi.

I'm owner of an ASUS VG248QE, and I'm using 125hz refresh rate for Wolfenstein Enemy Territory game, as the server config forces to use maximum of 125fpses for client on competitive gameplay.

When I'm was testing the 144hz@125fpses, as well the 120hz@125fpses in-game but it doesn't seems to be the same smoothness as with 125hz@125fpses - this is just subjectively feels perfect and you can clearly see the difference if you have enough sensitives eyes perception of a first person shooter gamer. I know that on this point some people dissagree but it's not the subject of this topic.

To achieve the 125hz, and to be able to enable it in-game, I had to pre-defined it first in nvidia driver for gfx card nVidia GeForce 970GTX ASUS Strix.
Control Panel/Display/Change Resolution/Customize/Create a customized resolution
with settings:
Display mode (as reported by Windows)
Horizontal pixels: 1920
Vertical lines: 720
Refresh rate (Hz): 125
Color depth (bpp): 16
Scan type: Progressive
Timing
Standard: CVT reduced blank
Settings name: Horizontal/Vertical
Active pixels: 1920/1080
Front porch (pixels): 48/3
Sync width (pixels): 32/5
Total pixels: 2080/1146
Polarity: Positive(+)/Negative(-)
Refresh rate: 143.25kHz/125.000Hz(124.000 to 126.000)
Pixel clock: 297.9600MHz

However, now when I play ET, I noticed on my screen the horizontal line of noise/distortions which walking up and down. It looks like it's screen tearing, but it's kinda bolder than single line. I don't know what is the technical name of that kind of noise/distortion. So I make few pictures of it.
https://i.imgur.com/4Qg4CLQ.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/bTzYnOy.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/NSe6jBY.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/FDJCtSY.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/5JFYIlY.jpg - this is bolded screen-tearing I mentioned before which is mostly subjectively visible in-real time.
https://i.imgur.com/NlIeP6y.jpg

I believe the answer is in timings settings (Standard: manual) but I don't really know much about how does it really works and what settings would be safe to change.

Currently, I use DisplayPort cable. The same problem I had with DVI-D cable.

Any idea how to fix it?

P.S.I tried before strobelight-beta4 but I have better effects on setting the same fps value as the refresh-rate hz. In my experience strobelight make the screen too dark, and the strobe effect it's not worth it in fps-games. More impact has synchronisation of the values - fps/displayrefresh.

P.S.2 I don't use g-sync as this monitor doesn't support it. I don't use the the software vertical synchronization as in my knowledge it decreases the response time of the monitor to the lowest achievable which won't produce screen-tearing. No screen-tearing results in higher response time.

Best regards.
Last edited by xyntron on 24 Aug 2019, 12:29, edited 2 times in total.
xyntron
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 21 Mar 2019, 09:29

Re: ASUS VG248QE @ 125hz and screen-tearing

Postby RealNC » 21 Mar 2019, 11:10

That's normal. When you don't use vsync and your FPS is same as the refresh rate, you will get stationary tearing that slowly walks up or down the screen. At 144Hz, the tearing will be more random and not be in the same place.

If your GPU is fast enough, you can try to use RTSS with scanline sync enabled (enter "-200" in the scanline sync box) to eliminate tearing.
TwitterSteamGitHubStack Overflow
The views and opinions expressed in my posts are my own and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Blur Busters.
User avatar
RealNC
 
Posts: 2732
Joined: 24 Dec 2013, 18:32

Re: ASUS VG248QE @ 125hz and screen-tearing

Postby xyntron » 21 Mar 2019, 11:50

I tried with:
Scanline sync: "-200"
in RivaTuner Statistic Server but it didn't really help. Still have this horizontal line of screen tearing in-game.
https://i.imgur.com/w0ejwJu.png

Any other suggestions how to fix it or what to experiment with?

EDIT:
It's also good to mention that I can toggle between the options below:
- Scanline sync
- Scanline sync x2
- Scanline sync x/2
I used 1st: Scanline sync.
xyntron
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 21 Mar 2019, 09:29

Re: ASUS VG248QE @ 125hz and screen-tearing

Postby RealNC » 22 Mar 2019, 06:20

You can change the -200 value upwards/downwards to try and get the tearing to be at the bottom of the screen. Try -100 for example or -50.

And you need to normal scanline sync option. x*2 is for capping to Hz * 2, and the x/2 option is for capping to Hz / 2.

Finally, you can also open the RTSS profile that you created for et2.exe in a text editor and in the [Framerate] section set SyncFlush=2 and see if that works well for you. The profile file is in the RTSS installation directory, inside the "Profiles" folder.
TwitterSteamGitHubStack Overflow
The views and opinions expressed in my posts are my own and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Blur Busters.
User avatar
RealNC
 
Posts: 2732
Joined: 24 Dec 2013, 18:32

Re: ASUS VG248QE @ 125hz and screen-tearing

Postby xyntron » 22 Mar 2019, 12:18

Hello again.

Thank you for response RealNC.

It looks like it does not take any effect.
I tried to change:
Scanline sync various values in-range: 300 - 0
Still it makes the screen-tearing walks up and down. No matter what value I entered.
I even tried to change Application detection level from Low to High
Also without any effect.
I manualy entered SyncFlush=2 in a [Framerate] section of a file. Also without any effect.
Here is the Profile et.exe.cfg file:
https://i.imgur.com/H3Ks5vI.png

I use win7 so I even tried to run RTSS in administrator mode, as ET also works in this mode. But that also doesn't effect anything.
ET runs in OpenGL.

If I understand it correctly we use Scanline sync to keep the screen-tearing holded in specific position of the screen (to not walk up/down). But looks like it doesn't work.

I don't know if that is important, but I'm using 3 monitors connected to my gfx card. Maybe this is the case:
- ASUS VG248QE (DP) - as a main display (ET runs on it).
- ASUS VE248 (HDMI)
- ACER K242HL (DVI-D)

EDIT:
Maybe I need to use VSYNC nvidia settings when using Scanline sync? I've used OFF for testing.
Last edited by xyntron on 23 Mar 2019, 08:59, edited 1 time in total.
xyntron
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 21 Mar 2019, 09:29

Re: ASUS VG248QE @ 125hz and screen-tearing

Postby RealNC » 22 Mar 2019, 12:43

No, scanline sync is used with vsync OFF. That's the point of it.

I don't know why it doesn't work for you :-/
TwitterSteamGitHubStack Overflow
The views and opinions expressed in my posts are my own and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Blur Busters.
User avatar
RealNC
 
Posts: 2732
Joined: 24 Dec 2013, 18:32

Re: ASUS VG248QE @ 125hz and screen-tearing

Postby fufuking » 23 Mar 2019, 03:34

xyntron wrote:Hello again.

Thank you for response RealNC.

It looks like it does not take any effect.
I tried to change:
Scanline sync various values in-range: 300 - 0
Still it makes the screen-tearing walks up and down. No matter what value I entered.
I even tried to change Application detection level from Low to High
Also without any effect.
I manualy entered SyncFlush=2 in a [Framerate] section of a file. Also without any effect.
Here is the Profile et.exe.cfg file:
https://i.imgur.com/H3Ks5vI.png
[url][/url]
I use win7 so I even tried to run RTSS in administrator mode, as ET also works in [url]that[/url] mode. But that also doesn't effect anything.
ET runs in OpenGL.

If I understand it correctly we use Scanline sync to holdhttps://googler.com the screen-tearing in specific position of the screen (to not walk up/down). But looks like it doesn't work.

I don't know if that is important, but I'm using 3 monitors connected to my gfx card. Maybe this is the case:
- ASUS VG248QE (DP) - as a main display (ET runs on it).
- ASUS VE248 (HDMI)
- ACER K242HL (DVI-D)

EDIT:
Maybe I need to use VSYNC nvidia settings when using Scanline sync? I've used OFF for testing.


why you try other method?
fufuking
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Mar 2019, 03:30

Re: ASUS VG248QE @ 125hz and screen-tearing

Postby xyntron » 23 Mar 2019, 09:49

@fufuking What do you suggest?
xyntron
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 21 Mar 2019, 09:29

Re: ASUS VG248QE @ 125hz and screen-tearing

Postby xyntron » 24 Aug 2019, 11:44

Hello back.

I managed to solve the problem with the non-working scanline sync, described above. It seems that it was because of 3 plugged-in monitor into the Dedicated Graphics Card (ASUS GeForce GTX 970). RTSS couldn't recognize on which monitor changes should be applied. When I re-plugged 2 another monitors into the Integrated CPU Graphics Card (Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600), the desired one left monitor which stayed plugged into the Dedicated GFX started to cooperate with RTSS settings and everything works fine now.

Custom resolution nVidia drivers:
https://i.imgur.com/WflWJrT.png
- The reason for 125Hz OC: et.exe application on ETPro mod can only works with maximum 125fps, each next pre-defined in-game fps values are: 111/100/90/83/76/71/66/62/58/55/52/50/47/45/43/41/40fps; et.exe cannot work on 120hz where ASUS monitor has it already pre-defined by default - closes default pre-defined common value would be 100fps without OC - which is 20% (way too) less.

RTSS Settings:
https://i.imgur.com/CRijzLx.png
- Scanline Sync: -1140
- No need to use: Application detection level: High; level: Low seems to be enough.

Visible effects:
https://i.imgur.com/Ycp67gS.png
- Tearing is now moved 1 cm before the top of the screen.
- Picture taken when strafe left (majority content is displayed with less response time delay)

Monitors plugged:
Intel(R)HD Graphics 4600 (Integrated):
- ASUS VE248 - HDMI
- ACER K242HL - DVI-D
nVidia GeForce GTX 970 (Dedicated):
- ASUS VG248QE - DP (RTSS applied changes here)

I'm halfly solved out the problem as I would like to know is there posible way to keep control over specific plugged monitor into the Dedicated Graphic card to take effect by RTSS software, without a need of physically re-plug it into another gfx - in this case integrated. RTSS software should has a command in a config line, where you can identify the monitor on which you want to apply the changes. I believe this is the reason why I couldn't see it working before.

Hope that info will help for the multi-monitors users.

Greets!
xyntron
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 21 Mar 2019, 09:29


Return to Display Overclocking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests