BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Talk about overclocking displays at a higher refresh rate. This includes homebrew, 165Hz, QNIX, Catleap, Overlord Tempest, SEIKI displays, certain HDTVs, and other overclockable displays.
Falkentyne
Posts: 2560
Joined: 26 Mar 2014, 07:23

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Falkentyne » 19 Jul 2019, 17:01

Notty_PT wrote:Be careful!! I have bad news. I just broke a XL2430T trying this with S-Switch method..

Everytime I connect the monitor now with Display Port, the "no signal" message appears. It doesnt work even on the bios or with another device connected. Deleted all custom resolutions, restarted everything with CRU... No luck. It works fine on other ports like HDMI. I think I broke displayPort on this monitor. And now I doubt I can return this way.

Anyone has suggestions? Chief? I'm clueless and sad..
Did you try a new displayport cable before giving up?

Notty_PT
Posts: 481
Joined: 09 Aug 2017, 02:50

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Notty_PT » 19 Jul 2019, 17:06

Yes I tried 3 different ones, no success. Stuck at the "no signal" for life

Any ideas? Altho I think I simply broke the monitor... Otherwise it would work on the motherboard bios at least...

EDIT: Ok, I left the monitor plugged OFF from the wall, switched power cable to one that I had here from an older PSU, and it works again... How reliefed am I :roll: :roll: :lol:

Any ideas why this happened? Is this "normal" behaviour?

I don´t even want to try to overclock this thing again, I´m scared now :lol:

User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
Posts: 6982
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 20 Jul 2019, 04:03

This is not normal behaviour if you did these two things.
1. Turn off blur reduction when overclocking for the first time.
2. Always use "instant mode".

That said, a monitor can "crash" and require unplugging. The buttons are controlled by firmware.

If you overclock again, rememeber steps 1/2. Try a lower Hz.

Risk is much lower than computer overclocking (except maybe for the XL2720Z early firmware strobe backlight overvoltage bug - but just turn off blur reduction mode), the monitor unplug is the equivalent of the 5-second computer power button press for a hard-locked-up computer that does not respond. But monitors don't implement the 5-second press, so unplug is needed.

If your monitor "crashes" (unplug-replug to reboot it) try a lower overclock Hz and without blur reduction.
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter

       To support Blur Busters:
       • Official List of Best Gaming Monitors
       • List of G-SYNC Monitors
       • List of FreeSync Monitors
       • List of Ultrawide Monitors

User avatar
hleV
Posts: 68
Joined: 27 May 2017, 10:31

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by hleV » 20 Jul 2019, 04:11

I'm successfully playing CSGO @ 210Hz since yesterday. Now just need the app developed to automate those things!

EDIT: Shit, I think my CSGO always forces to run @ 144Hz for some reason. Even if I set my monitor to 60Hz or 120Hz, the mat_info command always reports 144Hz, unlike in urut's screenshot where it shows 210Hz: https://i.imgur.com/VUTIOC4.jpg
Not sure what could this be. Perhaps I'll have to reinstall my GPU drivers.

akhyg
Posts: 8
Joined: 16 Jan 2019, 04:01

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by akhyg » 20 Jul 2019, 06:27

i can't reach 160hz on xl2411z dvi vers001.
@hleV how you did it? i hit test custom resolution i get out of range and i cant activate anything because monitor automatic goes back to 144hz.
can you post your custom resolution ?

User avatar
hleV
Posts: 68
Joined: 27 May 2017, 10:31

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by hleV » 20 Jul 2019, 07:14

akhyg wrote:i can't reach 160hz on xl2411z dvi vers001.
@hleV how you did it? i hit test custom resolution i get out of range and i cant activate anything because monitor automatic goes back to 144hz.
can you post your custom resolution ?
When you press test custom resolution and your XL2411Z goes out of range, hit "Yes" on your 2nd monitor. Then that profile will be saved and you will be able to switch to it afterwards.
___

Okay bad news, in my case CSGO's fullscreen mode refuses to run at more than 144Hz. When desktop is @210Hz, CSGO still launches @144Hz. In urut's case I believe it might be launching @210Hz, but won't allow him to apply the "fix" because moving to softMCCS will tab him out of the game.

At the moment the only solution I see (for myself at least) is disabling DWM and then running CSGO in windowed mode, as I don't want the added input lag with DWM on.

EDIT: When creating custom resolution via CRU rather than NVIDIA CP, it's just like urut's case: it goes black and out of range and there's no way to apply the fix without tabbing out.

So we need the app that does the fixing automatically in order to play games in fullscreen.
Last edited by hleV on 20 Jul 2019, 08:16, edited 1 time in total.

Notty_PT
Posts: 481
Joined: 09 Aug 2017, 02:50

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Notty_PT » 20 Jul 2019, 08:16

Did you create cust resolution with CRU? Games like to ignore nvidia custom res, not the case with cru. Also go to your 3d settings on NVCP, on CS GO exe, refresh rate -> max possible

urut
Posts: 109
Joined: 08 Aug 2014, 13:15

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by urut » 20 Jul 2019, 09:12

hleV wrote:
akhyg wrote:i can't reach 160hz on xl2411z dvi vers001.
@hleV how you did it? i hit test custom resolution i get out of range and i cant activate anything because monitor automatic goes back to 144hz.
can you post your custom resolution ?
When you press test custom resolution and your XL2411Z goes out of range, hit "Yes" on your 2nd monitor. Then that profile will be saved and you will be able to switch to it afterwards.
___

Okay bad news, in my case CSGO's fullscreen mode refuses to run at more than 144Hz. When desktop is @210Hz, CSGO still launches @144Hz. In urut's case I believe it might be launching @210Hz, but won't allow him to apply the "fix" because moving to softMCCS will tab him out of the game.

At the moment the only solution I see (for myself at least) is disabling DWM and then running CSGO in windowed mode, as I don't want the added input lag with DWM on.

EDIT: When creating custom resolution via CRU rather than NVIDIA CP, it's just like urut's case: it goes black and out of range and there's no way to apply the fix without tabbing out.

So we need the app that does the fixing automatically in order to play games in fullscreen.

In my case csgo fullscreen works when i created cru resolution but with 1 pixel hiigher than its normal. I play csgo on 1280x1024 so i created in cru 1280x1025 (yes, 1025) and set it on desktop on 210hz, then launch csgo and its working, mat info showing 1280x1025 @ 210hz. Try it maybe.

Notty_PT
Posts: 481
Joined: 09 Aug 2017, 02:50

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Notty_PT » 20 Jul 2019, 13:46

Ok so I switched the power cable, got courage and attempted to overclock my XL2430T again. This time everything worked flawlessly:

- Up to 165hz without any artifacts or colour bit losses

- 220hz possible but with some glitches, lack of sharpness on eveything text related and some games showing a white screen of death (need PC reboot)

- 215hz 100% stable overclock

Used the S-Switch method and created the custom resolution with CRU, so I can use it in every game FullScreen without any problems.
Configured a profile specifically for 215hz with Gamma Level 5, less brightness, no Black equalizer etc just to make the image a bit better
Also went to Nvidia control panel, 3d settings, and manually changed each game .exe to "Use maximum possible refresh rate"

Running without any issue, "free" 215hz on a 188€ 144hz monitor (refurbished from an European store wich if I have permission I will let you know, because they have 5 more models at that price) :D This monitor costs 350€ new. So for 188€ you can get a 215hz monitor!

As I prefer smaller screens, now I will keep testing input lag against the current champion Asus XG258Q 240hz monitor. If the input lag is any close I might even get rid of the XG258Q as this Benq has WAY BETTER overdrive. Imagine having a matured 144hz panel overdrive on a 215hz monitor... perfect. Will do some more tests now.

Sp you can add another sucessful overclock to your list Chief! I used DisplayPort btw.

I also have a Benq XL2411P here, but I won´t even bother with it, since it doesn´t have S-Switch and I don´t want to use 2 screens to do this method, as having a 2nd display connected induces input lag on my games (so I never do it while I´m gaming, I even prefer another device connected to the 2nd monitor if I want to watch youtube etc, like a small Pen Hdmi PC or something).

akhyg
Posts: 8
Joined: 16 Jan 2019, 04:01

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by akhyg » 21 Jul 2019, 02:41

hleV wrote:
akhyg wrote:i can't reach 160hz on xl2411z dvi vers001.
@hleV how you did it? i hit test custom resolution i get out of range and i cant activate anything because monitor automatic goes back to 144hz.
can you post your custom resolution ?
When you press test custom resolution and your XL2411Z goes out of range, hit "Yes" on your 2nd monitor. Then that profile will be saved and you will be able to switch to it afterwards.
___
now i cant modify anything in softMCCS / https://imgur.com/a/9R2F5OC https://imgur.com/RFzoMLt check pictures , all grey.
i dont see any "Yes" after Test, maybe that notification goes to the primary monitor (xl2411z) and on extend i cant see it ?
how i do this (except drag from primary after where they opened)-> *Launch SoftMCCS and Nvidia onto 2nd monitor

Post Reply